If you are alone on New Years' Eve.....

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

To all the people who today do not have a family to celebrate with, or just lost someone special this year, I wish you healing, strength, solace, and a better new year ahead.  

I know how hard it is when you are supposed to celebrate and be happy, but life is not been kind or generous to you at the moment.  My thoughts go out to you.

I took this picture in a refugee camp in Greece.  It was a January like too many: impossibly cold, dirty, muddy, and in this case, almost hopeless.  Volunteers like me decorated the skeletons of trees, but the misery shook our bones and our very core.

Yet, it was one of the most heartwarming experiences I ever had, to be there with people who ran from the war and lost everything.  Just being witness to their experience and sharing the burned.

Just being there.  

Just being.  

Just....


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S.: 

1. I only post 100% original work and photos taken with my smartphone.  It is much smarter than I am.

2. Let me know you are following me and I will follow you back!

3. Thanks for reading and stopping by, I really appreciate it. It would not be the same without you.


Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 22:30:20
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 118.41/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.97 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76