An Active Volcano and some penguins

Deception Island is caldera of an active volcano around the South Shetland Islands near the Antarctic Peninsula. This island does have quite a history when it comes to human use, as it did serve as a whaling station for numerous years with 1,000's upon 1,000's of whales slaughtered and butchered along its shorelines. If you ever walk around the inside of the island you are met with numerous whale bones and deteriorating structures that were used in the whaling operations.

On the outside of the island you have a place called Baily Head, which is a huge breeding colony for Chinstrap penguins. They estimate around 75,000 breeding pairs with a total of around 200,000 individuals, which includes juveniles and chicks in the area. It is one of the most remarkable places to explore on the South Shetland Islands and I have been beyond fortunate enough to experience it twice and I do hope to again walk its shoreline in the near future too.


20180102_174643.jpg
A landscape shot of over 75,000 breeding pairs of Chinstrap penguins on an active volcano in the South Shetland Islands
You can even see the ship I was stationed on in the distance!

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website if you are interested in purchasing any of my prints!!!
Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T15:55:54
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 686.43/800.00
Total Photos: 89
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is a nice little essay. Very informative.

Thanks! I am glad you liked it and found it informative

I liked the information of your publication. Incredible while reading you, I moved to the place. You have something very beautiful when you tell your experiences.

Thank you! I am really happy that you like my posts and photos

You're really exploring the world and you always give a detailed description of every place you visit. That's lovely!

Thanks! I do my best when on my working adventures to capture as many time-stopping moments as I can. I am glad you enjoy my posts. I am really really appreciative of your support

I'm the one that should be appreciating you, not the other way around. Your posts are very informative with detailed description. You don't just post pictures, but pictures with great significance. Thanks for the support

Congratulation ! #teamaustralia
Your Post on steemit!

I am @Rihannas!
I Support You on Steemit. Your Post is Good .

I have never been there but seen in the photo it's an island shape like a whale's head, though not sure yet!

Perfect shot

It is really remote and really really difficult to get on shore but mind-blowing amazing. You are right I can see that whale's head.

Thank you!

Hola @thomasjmitchell
Buenisímo el artículo.
Yo no tengo la oportunidad de viajar. Pero siempre que veo artículos como este lo busco en google y me informo.
Su altura máxima es de 539 metros sobre el nivel del mar y sus últimas erupciones fueron en 1670 y 1970. De hecho dicen que su nombre es Isla Decepción.
Gracias amigo

Super came out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97