Discovering the past of Denmark - Visiting a barrow

It's no secret that the weather is absolutely amazing in Denmark these days, and I obviously had to go out and enjoy the warmth while it lasts. Recently me and my father decided to take a trip to the island of Fyn, which is the second largest island in Denmark, you know, just to get out a little. My Father is into all thing botanical and watching birds and stuff and me, well, I just like to tag along as I often get to explore new part of my home country that I normally never would visit and I get to learn a few things or two.

We were driving along on the road to our first destination when we came across a road-sign featuring the name of a city that was made famous by a silly commercial a few years ago (The city is called "Snave" which is danish slang for french kissing). Of course we had to visit the place now we were there but unfortunately it turned out to be the wrong city (yup, there are more than one of them apparently) and we were both a bit disappointed. As we were driving back towards the main road we just happened to notice a burial mound in the middle of a field and since we had nothing better to do we decided to go and explore it.


33335216_10215432547942844_4430297059752411136_n.jpg
100's if not 1000's of these barrows dots the danish landscape

The Danish barrows can be traced back to before the vikings and are valuable archaeological sites that can tell us a lot about how our ancestors lived and died in the past. Over the years a great many barrows has been uncovered throughout the country, and while many of them has already been plundered in the past , some of them are found with skeletons, items, treasures and invaluable information for our historians and anthropologists. I know that many other countries sports barrows but still many of our most well kept barrows are both impressive and intriguing and almost always worth a visit, specially if they are open so you can venture inside.. if you dare.

This particular barrow had been occupied by the local chief some 1000 years ago the info board told us, but had probably been cleared out by grave-robbers a few hundred years ago. It's perfectly preserved otherwise and as you venture inside it's amazing to see how our ancestors without modern tech has managed to handle huge boulders that easily weighs half a ton, at least.

33186049_10215432547422831_4641416632453824512_n.jpg
People were smaller back then, the entrance is less than a meter high

If you ever come and visit Denmark and the sun is shining like it was for us, then do yourself a favor and at least one day get out into the countryside, far away from the big cities. Though the land is mostly flat and consist of farmland we definitely have our small hidden gems of nature and rich and documented history to trace, from the stone-age over the age of the vikings to modern time.

Poke me if you stop by.. take care steemians and thanks for reading along!

wanderingdanish banner2.jpg

Sort:  

It definitely has that Lord of the Rings vibe to me... I half-expect a Barrow-wight to be hidden in there waiting to stab me and take my ring. Oh wait... I don't have any ring!

Jokes aside, nice pic, and the entry looks indeed incredibly small. Did you manage to take pictures from the inside? Wasn't it vandalized?

Yeah I got the same vibe from the outside.. but definitely not as cosy on the inside. There was no vandalism but also barely any light and with my crappy samsung I couldn't get any useful pictures that made sense.

Good luck finding the ring :)

What a beautiful place. Good place to enjoy nice weather for sure

Interesting story about the cave. Wow

Thank you.. not a cave though since it's manmade :)

I feel like it came out straight from Hobbiton. Hobbits probably lived in there, although it doesn't look as cozy as a real hobbit's home hahaha

Dead hobbits maybe.. the least scary undeads, ever :)

Your welcome?.. I think :)

Yeah it's pretty neat

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T23:02:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 171.80/200.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.14 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh my! Oh my! What a beautiful place. I never knew Denmark has an amazing kind of beauty it can offer. I wish I can visit it someday.

Congratulations @wanderingdanish! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83