Have You Heard About Duolingo - Entirely Free Language-Learning Platform?

in #language6 years ago

There are three main reasons why I like Duolingo. It's free! It's easy! And, it's playful! Besides, you can learn languages at your own pace, whenever you want, as much as you want, and as long as you want, all around the clock 24/7/365.

The list of available languages you have there at your disposal is huge. Don't be surprised if, for instance, as a fan of Star Trek television series you would find even a Klingon language there either. 😉 Another fantasy language you may see there also is High Valyrian.

Duolingo

However, the Duolingo project was started in 2009 by two selfless and genius guys, professor Luis von Ahn (creator of reCAPTCHA) and Severin Hacker who was the first cofounder. Later on, the project was additionally supported by investments received from Union Square Ventures and Ashton Kutcher's firm, A-Grade Investments, LLC.

Luis and Severin

At the end of 2011, they launched first online but the private beta version which almost instantly attracted many creating a waiting list of over 300,000 users. About a half year later, in the mid of 2012, the platform has been launched for the general public.

Duolingo-Screenshot1

According to the reports published in The Business Journals two years ago, in the article from March 2016, Duolingo back then had over 120 million users. The number today exceeds more than 200 million users.

Duolingo-Screenshot2

Six test levels scores might be achieved by learning languages with Duolingo, starting from Beginner through Elementary, Intermediate, Advanced, and Proficient up to the Expert level.

When you chose the language that you want to learn you would be offered with two options to choose your path. You may start as a beginner with Basics 1 or if you feel that you are a more advanced learner, you may take a short Placement Test which would unlock for you more advanced levels according to your current knowledge.

Duolingo - Choose Your Path - screenshot
Image Source: Screenshot from Duolingo Desktop App.

Each Duolingo language learning level is divided into smaller lessons which are furthermore divided into different smaller skills lessons sort of mini-quizzes through which you would learn or improve your reading, writing, speaking, and listening skills.

Duolingo is genuinely fun and quite an addictive language learning platform where you can earn so-called Experience Points (XP) for correct answers, compare them and compete with other users. You may choose to race against the clock, set your daily goals and by accomplishing them earn so-called Lingots which you can use to buy some bonus skills lessons and other cool things inside Duolingo Store.

Duolingo-Screenshot3

Not to be only a fun language learning app but as well to increase even more their learning efficiency, Duolingo recently added a new feature inside skills tree called Skills Levels. Skill Level points differ from XP (Experience Points). With each new Skill Level achieved you would level up and get harder and more in-depth exercises.

Duolingo-Screenshot4

If you are contemplating to learn some new language and if the lack of time or otherwise attached expenses stopped you by now, I strongly encourage you to join big Duolingo language learning community and try this great tool!

Duolingo

Duolingo is accessible for free by signing in and using their online website as:

For those who want to skip the ads and be able to access the lessons offline, Duolingo also has a paid version called Duolingo Plus.

Duolingo-Screenshot5

The languages that are currently available at their desktop web portal (in alphabetical order) are:

  1. Chinese
  2. Czech
  3. Danish
  4. Dutch
  5. Esperanto
  6. French
  7. German
  8. Greek
  9. Hebrew
  10. High Valyrian
  11. Hungarian
  12. Irish
  13. Italian
  14. Japanese
  15. Klingon
  16. Korean
  17. Norwegian
  18. Polish
  19. Portuguese
  20. Romanian
  21. Russian
  22. Spanish
  23. Swahili
  24. Swedish
  25. Turkish
  26. Ukrainian
  27. Vietnamese
  28. Welsh

Pick your language and enjoy learning it!

Join Duolingo Community!


Posted on Friday, April 27, 2018


Disclaimer
This is not a paid promotion, as well I'm not in any way affiliated with Duolingo, and I don’t get any kind of compensation by Duolingo for writing this article. The material provided in this article is general in nature; it's based on personal opinion and experience, and has been prepared for informational purposes only.

Images source:
All the images, if not otherwise stated, are from Duolingo Press Kit.

Bibliography:
Duolingo and Wikipedia - Duolingo


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

woahh... so many languages... it can be fun to use it.. <3

You should try it! 😉

This app is super cool and could be amazing for some of my students, especially the ESL students. I am downloading it as we speak.

You really made my day with this comment! 🙂
I'm so happy if it would be of some help to you and especially your students!

Please, take a look at the site or around the app as I know they have there some additional options for teachers and students. I think they even have a possibility to create some kind of classes where you can check the progress of your students.
I didn't investigate that part in depth as I'm learning alone.

Thanks for writing about this app! For several years, I was thinking to learn a new language but always tend to forget to take any concrete action towards it. Your post reminded me about my wish and this app has rekindled my interest. Downloading it now.

Hahaha - great! Now I'm curious how you are going to like it!?! 🙂

Thanks for a great reminder! I used it some time ago for learning Spanish and since I have been thinking about starting with that again this post is a great timing for me hihi. Thank you so much! 💚💚💚

You are welcome! 🙂
Funny thing is that I also had to remind myself of the app, as same as you I stopped learning (Spanish as well) at some point. As my youngest son is now living in Spain, the other day I was thinking, I should start learning again, and that in fact inspired me to write this article.

If you want to compare the results of progress (ili zabušavanja - u čemu sam ekspert 😜) you may find me there as Ana-Maria-Cro.

@ana-maria thats look quite interested stuff...more importantantly it is available on ios and google play....i will opt for romanian and spanish.....will get something to learn...thanks for sharinf👍

Yes, it really is! 🙂
If you are going to like at least 10% of as much as I do, I'm sure you are going to love it. 😉

Btw - thanks for the comment and stopping by!

Thanks! 🙂

Wow what a a nice post! The people who are interested different language i think it will be useful apps for them, thanks to share.

Thank you! And yes, I also think it might be useful to others. That's why I posted it in the first place. 🙂

I tried to learn Portuguese on Duolingo, but it was only for a few times just to see what is Duolingo exactly. And I enjoyed every bit of it! It's so fun to use. My friend still learns Italian and when we meet he's always telling something new he learned xD He's kinda boring now :D

That High Valyrian seems tempting :D

I first tried to renew my very old French knowledge (the language I was speaking quite smoothly many years ago, but not being in a position to practice it, almost entirely forgot it).
But then my youngest son fall in love with a Spanish girl and after year and a half of distance relationship moved to Spain so I thought it would be wiser if I start to learn Spanish. In the beginning, I was doing the exercises on a daily base, but then because of some other things that were going on I became a bit tired, a bit lazy and another bit lacking the time. The mixture of all of that made me stop.
The other day I thought I might try it and continue learning it again, and that inspired me to write this article. 😉🙂

Go for it! We're lazy sometimes, but to know another language is a beautiful thing.. And Spanish is amazing for me.. ;)

Used to love the app, but since they added the annoying ads to make more money and push people to pay to get rid of them, it's not worth it anymore. Greed usually destroys good ideas, which is sad.

Well, I can somewhat agree with you as I don't like ads either. But on the other hand, we should also be aware that running a server for over 200 million users is very far from being a cheap business. And to be able to keep the app free without some serious donations, we have to be honest, they didn't have too many other options.

There used to be only few ads before, now they pop up all the time. Also having millions of users results in many pro-accounts, so server payments are not a real excuse to make the user experience annoying.

Seems like they took away the "skill" bars too, which were nice. It's pretty usual trend, that when a sw company makes a lot of money, they tend to forget the users and focus on maximizing profits.

Yeah, used it quite a bit....you learn by going over a word or phrase.

Would recommend it to anyone.

Glad to hear you like it too! 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58