Morse

in #language6 years ago

(Video source)

Hi friends, I hope you had a good New Year's Eve and that your 2018 year has started well. Me, personally, I always start mine with a spring cleaning, I get up, late often, and then after my lunch, I remove all the Christmas decorations, the tree, the lights, ... I love the holidays and the decorations but as soon as January 1 arrives, I need to remove everything and after I feel good and the house and airy. As early as December, I love decorating the house, as much as on the 1st of January, I have to remove everything at the first hour. Either ... I just finished tidying up and cleaning everything up after our guests last night and I'm going to take the opportunity to write this article on the Morse.

Have you ever heard of this coded language, perhaps in a film? Or a historical broadcast?

The Morse alphabet was invented in 1832 by Samuel Morse and his assistant Alfred Vail. A character code, (.) "Di" dots, and (-) "Dah" dashes are assigned to each letter, number, or punctuation. These make it possible to transmit a message or a text by means of short (dot) or long (line) pulses. These pulses can be produced by light, by signs or by noises.

Even after 160 years, it is still used today, especially by amateur radio operators. The code can be sent quickly by means of a telegraph and is useful for emergency signals (SOS) transmitted by a radio, a mirror or a flashlight and even for people with serious communication problems. To be able to master the Morse code, you must consider it as a new language to study.

(Video source)

To understand the Morse code, we must associate with each letter a word that begins with the same letter. This word is divided into syllables and when the syllable includes the sound "O", it is equivalent to a "line" in the Morse alphabet. If the syllable does not understand the sound "O", it will be a point.

To transcribe the c, we take the association "coca-cola". The syllables containing "o" correspond to a line, so: coca-cola, which gives: -. -.

Another example, Bonaparte, is associated with the letter B "Bonaparte": this name consists of four syllables: bon a par te and there is only "bon" who has the sound "o", suddenly the letter B is coded with a line (bon) and three points (a par te) -. . .

(Text source)

To remember the alphabet is one thing and to practice the morse letter by letter to obtain a word seems to me relatively easy with the alphabet under the eyes at the beginning by against the second part where it is a question of replacing the sound O by a line and the other syllables by a point seems to me more complex, the hardest is to guess the word that corresponds to signs like Coca-Cola for example. We can also read another word that Coca-Cola, all we know is that there are two syllables with an O. I will still go see some videos to understand because it seems less obvious to me than decrypt one letter at a time. Could someone give me some trick or trick to easily decrypt whole sentences?

I just downloaded an application on my phone to learn Morse, I'll go take a look, I understood the basic principle but I think it takes a lot of practice and practice to use it properly and quickly.
It makes me think of my shorthand course that I had in my first year of my studies as secretary of direction, with features and points, it was necessary to guess words a little like the Morse actually.

Sort:  

Morse is been around for quite some time.
It's language based on dots and lines corresponding to english letters.
Good to see a post regarding this old coding language.
Happy new year:)

happy new year

Happy New Year to you and your happiest family. You are great @indesta120282.

Happy New Year to you . May this year brings all the happiness and joy in your life. Stay blessed .
Follow and upvote for me plz thanks.

Interesting post. My dad actually used Morse code and sent messages as a railroad agent, Our family's "bread and butter"! Happy New Year!

Awesome post dear good job happy new year

nice post .happy new year ,i wish you the best

Do you use this?

I try to learn it 😊 I know SOS already

wonderful post..upvot.. resteem

Congratulations @lndesta120282, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1366 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $10547.16. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68