You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Learning - Pineapple Language Hacks #2: What does it take to learn a second language quickly?

in #language6 years ago

I think I understand why it's hard for me to learn other languages! Since the beginning I've been failing. I have never set it as a goal, I have almost always seen it as a hobby and of course, there is not much dedication or interest in learning. I agree with you that whatever we want to do, there must be a commitment and a willingness to achieve our goals, because if there is no commitment, we will simply fail. I like to know that even if I don't spend much time on it, I can advance in language acquisition. In the same way, that using materials such as texts or films, I can exercise. Human beings are in a world where work and a thousand things consume our time and most of them exist because there is a benefit in between; so what better than devoting a few minutes to reading or listening to something that will be gain in your life. I will be very attentive to your advice, @whatamidoing. Thanks to you and @adsactamente for this excellent material.

Sort:  

Hobby is fine, as long as there is motivation. You have to really want it and believe that it's possible, that's all. Sometimes we set our goals higher than our beliefs about achieving them and this is setting us up for failure. Why not lower the bar a bit, just at first and set the goal at "understanding lots of words and phrases". From there you can change the goal to conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23