Learn Portuguese With Cryptogee - Comparing Portuguese With Spanish

in #languages6 years ago

Portuguese Spanish Flags.jpg

I recently decided to try and add Portuguese to my list of languages that I know and am learning. I am already learning Mandarin at the moment, so I felt that learning Portuguese wouldn't get in the way of that.

I found that as I started to learn the language, that it has a lot more in common with Spanish than I thought. So in this video I talk about what I've learned so far and the similarities with Spanish, and also some of the differences.

Sort:  

Nice video thanks for sharing sir
I will Resteemed this post

I upvoted your post and resteemed your post. I do request you to check my posts and give your valuable feedback.

great post buddy i like it very much thanks for sharing

Hey it's the fastest reader on Steemit, now she can watch a 5 minute video in under a minute; wow! Is there any end to your talent?

Cg

Very interesting!i speak both italian and spanish but i can read a little of Portugues!..words are very similar between these 3 languages

Yes, I remember back in college, I made the mistake of trying to learn basic Italian at the same time as learning intermediate Spanish, big mistake! I couldn't tell my dove's from my donde's :-D

Cg

cryptogee indeed trying to learn two languages in highschool it´s a bad idea haha

Hahaha molto divertente!! ;)

good video friend congratulate

They are basically the same...

Portugal and Spain

were close allies for many centuries, so it only makes sense... a Brazilian can understand me (a Venezuelan) almost perfectly, as I him/her

:D

Are you Portuguese?

What I find interesting is that there are loads of words and phrases that look very similar when written down, but sound very different when spoken.

Cg

I... wouldn't put my money on that... they also DO sound quite similar!

As I said, close allies for a long time... Also, Spain (Aragon more precisely) colonized Italy (the southern half) for a long time (it was called the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies); Italian also sounds a lot like Spanish! :D

No, I am Venezuelan (I said that up there... ^)

Doh, yes I saw Venezuelan, sorry :-)

I have watched a youtube video where they go through a lot of the words that sound the same but have a different meaning. Some of the meanings are similar, some totally different, wish I could remember some of the words or at least the youtube link, but I can't, sorry :-)

Cg

Haha no worries! I saw him as well (it's the cool guy who talks about languages with flags and all, right?)

He indeed meant that some of those words mean totally different things, yes, but the fact remains:

I am Venezuelan and I can understand most of what my Brazilian friends say! In Portuguese! (Well at least what they write down :D )

BTW do u know how to use emoji over here? I use them a lot as u can see xD

Yes that's the guy! :-)

I think for some reason Brazilian Portuguese is easier to understand, this is why I'm learning it; I prefer the sound.

Unfortunately you have to copy and paste emojis, I'm like you, I like to use them a lot; however I tend not to on Steemit :-(

Cg

Oh crap, come on! It is even on that "Markdown Styling Guide" they hand us over! They SHOULD be freely useable. :|

Haha, a fellow Emoji user! Let's be Steemit friends.

:D

(That's what my 1st friend ever, in Elementary School, asked me xD).

It IS easier, the sound is different.

Although, I think I could understand both; there are LOTS of Portuguese immigrants here in Venezuela, as well as Spaniards and Italians, and we are used to their particular accent in Spanish. xD

Good idea and choice when picking your new language! If you also know Spanish (I could teach you xD) you will dominate the whole linguistic spectrum of the Americas.

Well except for Quebec & Haiti, but those are tiny in comparison... Ah, I forget about the islands and the Guyannes... :| Well small places as well!

I only know SP & EN myself, but I want to learn either Italian, German & French (in that order, in case I move to Europe)...

...or Chinese, Russian & Arabic (for the more broad international approach; I study Foreign Trade/International Commerce, so they would be of use.

Cool video and Thanks for sharing this video to us. Goodluck

hmmmm... yeah... it is said these kind of comment are counter productive, both for the commenter and the community... be careful.

Son idiomas muy parecidos, se puede entender dentro de todo

Si claro, pero es mas facil a leer Portugues tan hablar :)

Cg

Correction for you, friend:

Es más fácil leer portugués que hablarlo...!

:D

Ah of course; I'm getting a bit rusty, I need to speak and write more :-) Thanks!!

Cg

No problemo! :)

For real, I am here in case you need to practice. We can go to Discord for that --do you have an account? I am dialsamai#9097 over there. :D

sí, @exe8422, son súper similares, pero leídos; entender escuchando cuesta más... como le decía a @cryptogee, por haber sido por tanto tiempo Aliados tan cercanos España y Portugal, probablemente... así como Italia que fue en el sur colonia española!

L'Italiano è lo spagnolo numero tre! :D O portugueis o número dois, haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76