1 Year Streak on Duolingo!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #languages5 years ago

I did it. I've just hit the one year mark of training Russian on Duolingo, without failing a single day.

This required 4 or 5 lessons a day, come sun or come shine.

Screenshot_2019-03-03-00-34-43-042_com.duolingo.png

For those who don't know it, Duolingo is a Website / App to make learning a language a fun experience.

Here are a few screenshots so you get the idea.

There are just a few variations on the kind of exercises. For example, you can be shown a text, accompanied by a voice sample and be asked to translate it.

Screenshot_2019-03-03-00-07-02-078_com.duolingo.png

Or you can be shown a text and be asked to translate it by rearranging the presented words.

Screenshot_2019-03-03-00-11-08-329_com.duolingo.png

There's also listening exercises, for which you need to write what you hear. This is good to train your hearing skills.

Screenshot_2019-03-03-00-20-54-328_com.duolingo.png

Oh, and did you know there's an app for Windows Phone, too? And it looks a lot better than the Android version. 😂

wp_ss_20190303_0001.png

If you start usingDuolingo, don't ignore the Website because you'll find more types of exercises and features which aren't available on the mobile apps.


Do you know about Duolingo? If yes, what are your thoughts about it?


2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Só usei um pouco para tentar melhorar o meu francês, mas tenho ideia que o que havia sem ser paga era escasso. Achas que é válido como única fonte de aprendizagem para uma língua?

Acho que depende da língua. Há algumas em que a app é melhor. Ah, e com a língua base Inglês a app é muito superior do que usando a versão PT.

I have started studying Tagalog. I hope I can be as consistent as you are with studying Russian. Can you listen to Russian TV shows/songs and understand what they're saying?

No, not yet but I can understand some parts, which is more than I understood a year ago. 😉

Congrats man!
and HOW?!

Duolingo is such a commitment! I didnt last 14 days and you did 365 days?!
Big ups to you brother!

Ahahaha. I have plenty of time while I walk to work and back. 😂

WoW 365 I use it to for italian but I have missed some days I admitt , Steem Goes first hagah but I love it its handy

It's not much time. I usually do it as I walk to work and back. 😉

Well i take my hat of for you its quite a difficult language

Actually, I tried German before... and it is a lot harder than Russian. 😊

Congratulations what a good thing.
Every day for a year is one heck of a commitment to achieve. People make new years resolutions and can’t keep them for a week.

Thanks a lot. It's just 10 or 15 minutes a day... It's not very much and the gamified experience helps. 😉

That's awesome. I love the app. I was trying to refresh my Spanish. I should be fluent, but lost so much from not using it. I like the idea of Tagalog. There are quite a few that I want to learn.

I tried Japanese but didn't get very far with it. What a complicated alphabet! 😂

Whaaat? One year, every single day? That's what I call a dedication :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeaiiiii! 🙌

It's my second one year streak already. I broke the first after one year and two months. 😤

Thanks for your comment.

Congrats on the dedication! I dont think I could ever stick it out haha. Can you hold a conversation in Russian now?

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, no. Not yet. That's the ultimate goal. For now, I'll be happy if I can order simple stuff at cafés, restaurants and supermarkets. The rest will come with time.

You're great. Handsome!

Спасибо большое, мой Русский друг! 😊

Всегда тебе рад.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98