Living Laos by riding it

in #laos2 years ago

Having lived in Laos for all but a year since 2009, I realise how little the general visitor to the PDR takes home with them in terms of experiences and memories.

Perhaps that is because ever since I started living in Laos I have wanted to explore my new home on a motorcycle. And now that I have done so I know what I missed. It is why I would encourage adventurous visitors to consider exploring Laos on two wheels.

After six years of thinking about it and doing research, in 2015 I made the decision to buy a three-year-old bike in Bangkok, Thailand and import it into Laos. My 200-cc KTM Duke, including import duties and all the official paperwork, cost the same as if I had bought a 25+ year old Honda in Laos.

The inside track
Dutch national Chris Mulder is the GM of Kingfisher Ecolodge in the Pathoumphone district of Champasak Province in southern Laos. He also founded the KTM Laos motorcycle club. “GT” Destination Partner We Are Lao invited Chris to share this “GT” Travel Experience.

And so my journey of owning and enjoying a motorcycle in Laos began. I have documented much of it on the KTM Laos Facebook page. I wish I had started sooner than 2015 because my life in Laos has been so much richer since.

I realise that travel of this style will not be for everyone, but those who try this way of discovering Laos will take home with them memories that will last a lifetime … Continue reading this “Good Tourism” Travel Experience in full and for free at https://GoodTourismTravelBlog.com/2022/01/living-laos-by-riding-it/. There are many more like it at GTTravelBlog.com.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58