Trying to make homemade lava

in #lava7 years ago

IMG_0521.JPG

So after successfully melting aluminium and copper, I thought I would try to melt some rocks to make home made lava, although I expected glass of some type.

IMG_0517.JPG

I got the furnace nice and hot, I had to get a new hair dryer to power it as the old one exploded and it was working great and only cost $19.

IMG_0523.JPG

So unfortunately I couldn't get it hot enough to melt the rocks, just to get them glowing bright red, so will try with sand next week time, but it was fun.

Sort:  

looks really cool anyway, look forward to the sand :)

I think I might need hotter heat source as well, am looking at getting some coking coal to use instead of charcoal

Hey Neat! I Made a furnace like that one too! but mine was fairly janky.
Hope to see more melting experiments soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64