Got any good lawyer jokes?

in #lawyers6 years ago

Ever wonder what the difference is between a dead lawyer on the road and a dead snake on the road? There are tire marks in front of the snake! (rim shot please!)

I am a lawyer, so I can say things like this. I kid. Anyone can tell a good lawyer joke. Many of us actually have a sense of humor. I try to help give the profession a good name and am often proud to hear people say that I am not "the typical lawyer." You just cannot always defend what lawyers are bringing to (or draining from) society. My law school Dean tried to do so on the first day of our orientation. He tried to tackle this beauty of a line from Shakespeare:

"The first thing we do, let's kill all the lawyers".
(2 Henry VI, 4.2.59), Dick the Butcher to Jack Cade

By "tried to tackle", I mean he insisted that Dick the Butcher's idea to kill us all was actually a compliment because of the idea that it gave recognition to the vital role we play in maintaining an orderly and high functioning society. I have always felt that there were probably some less complimentary and more down-to-earth interpretations of this line. I'm not sayin', I'm just sayin'.

Please do not mistake me. We do a lot of good things and most of us are truly interested in making the world a better place. But seriously, we all know that there are some really bad odors coming from some of our colleagues the world over. Here are some examples:

Most lawyers do not deserve to be associated with the above all-stars of advocacy. Most of us are pretty harmless. In fact, it got so cold in Toronto this past winter that several of us were even observed putting our hands in our own pockets (laugh track!). The above schemers and grifters all seem to think their smarter than the rest of us and that they can dance circles around the rest of us legally to get away with anything they wish. I cannot help but think that being a lawyer has something to do with it in each case.

CW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.95
ETH 3733.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69