Growth Mindset at Uncertain Times

in #leadership4 years ago (edited)

I have spoken at 2 small events this past 2 weeks. It was challenging to go out and mingle with people. Always thinking if I am healthy and strong enough to withstand viruses like nCov and won't I end up becoming a carrier and pass it on to others.

Wash hands, keep yourself clean, no shake hands, no cheek to cheek greet, no to buffets, and avoid crowded areas are some of the things I kept in mind at these times.

Someone said that you have to be brave when others are scared and be scared when others are too brave. The same applies to business and in digital marketing. While others take a low profile with their business activities, some use this as an opportunity to stand out and craft services helping the market overcome the challenges presented.

Priorities are changing too. From face to face events transitioned to online events. From take-outs to home-cooked meals. From entertainment-focused purchases to health-focused purchases.

Last year, I spoke at almost a hundred events and assessed more than 100 classes. Last December, I decided to lessen my event engagements this 2020 and focus more on one-on-one-teaching, mentoring, and coaching. Created a suite of limited and niche services/products I can offer.

Instead of targeting my 30,000 community members, I zoomed in to a small segment of around 500 contacts. Get around 50 to 100 clients are from there.

I identified several learning programs where I want to grow my expertise this year and can be useful in the years to come. Meeting my professional goals will also align with my personal goals of helping others reach their dreams and potential.

To advance my objectives, I have to focus on adding value to people. Creating tools and opportunities for more people to help me get that done.

As professionals and entrepreneurs go through uncertain times, I encourage you to think about:

  1. The kind of business, work, or job you like to do.
  2. Three (3) to five (5) projects (professional and personal) you can pursue and set goals on what you want to achieve from each.
  3. Build skills and knowledge to help complete your projects. Raise your leadership capacity daily to help attract people and supporters to your endeavors.
  4. Track your progress regularly. Consistently, explore ways to advance your objectives and goals.

Send me a private message should you like to share your answers with me through a one-on-one coaching session.

(Photo was taken from my talk on "Social Media Advertising and Digital Marketing Opportunities for Communication Majors" at FEU Manila last February 7, 2020.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71