[LEARN & EARN - Week #18] Isis Australia and Venice a thing of the past?

in #learnandearn5 years ago (edited)

learn.png

My entry this week into the Learn & earn challenge created by @matkodurko

What did I learn yesterday?
It quickly became my favorite thing to write down in the morning. Just couple of words. Usually between 3-6. Just keywords. The realization that I'm waking up smarter than yesterday just totally boosts the energy for the next day

I love learn and earn because it kind of forces me to pay more attention to the things around me.

I'd hear something and normally it'll just pass me by, but now I actually go and research into it and that way I learn something new everyday! Okay, so what cool stuff did I learn recently?

1. The ISIS caliphate tumbles.

190323110736isisdefeat1exlarge169.jpg

(source google images)

So some wonderful news on the front of terrorism! Isis has lost its last remaining stronghold in Syria. They claimed the massive area in 2014, I've heard, the size of Britain stretching from western Syria to the outskirts of the Iraqi capital of Baghdad. They were however defeated in a massive win over ISIS by the US-backed Syrian forces.

It is important to note however that this wont be the last we hear of ISIS as there are many outlier groups around the world still active, but it appears as though their days might be numbered!

2. Burning a CD wont knock you unconscious!

There has been a myth going around for years that robbers burn cd's by your window to knock you unconscious and lately in the area that I live, people have been claiming that they were burgled overnight and didn't hear a thing, also that they woke up feeling ill and confused.

I did some digging into this and it seems there is no science backing this theory?

There is also no conclusive evidence that its completely impossible but for now it seems unlikely.

Are we just in a really deep sleep, are they in fact burning something else or whats happening here?

Please let me know in the comments if you happen to have some info!

3. The city of Venice is drowning

A recent study has said that Venice will be underwater by 2100 if the effects of global warming is not curbed.

4. Deadly square waves

squarewaves2.jpg

source

There is an island just off France where the waves form perfect squares! The Isle of Rhe is the only place on earth where this happens.

These waves are a result of two seas meeting and is called a cross sea, these waters are extremely dangerous as the riptide is stronger than most.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 13.38% upvote from us for your 2950 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67