The Point Of Learning a Language Is To Understand and Be Understood

in #learnenglish6 years ago

There are many reasons to learn another language:

  • Continue your education in another country
  • Get a better job
  • Make new friends (offline and online)
  • Make personal improvements by increasing your skills

But I want to suggest that all of the reasons mentioned above are based on the need to UNDERSTAND OTHER PEOPLE and BE UNDERSTOOD BY OTHER PEOPLE.

board-64269_640.jpg

Language is not simply a bunch of words

It is true that a language consists of a series of words used within a specific community or country. We just answered the "WHAT" question.

But even more importantly, language is used to communicate within a given community or country. We just answered the "WHY" question.

Communication is a key human activity. We communicate with others in order to:

  • pass along information
  • explain our thoughts
  • share our emotions and feelings
  • ask questions
  • connect emotionally, mentally, and spiritually

I am rebooting @SteemEnglish

I lived overseas for more than 10 years. I spent much of my time overseas teaching conversational English and creating a community of English speakers. I am excited to use my experience/knowledge and apply the teaching principles I used in Indonesia on the Steemit platform to help people who want to improve their English skills.

@SteemEnglish will use text (Steemit Posts), audio (DSound), and video (DTube) to teach simple and easy to understand English lessons.

Possible Topics

  • Pronunciation
  • Vocabulary
  • Idioms
  • Example Conversations

How Can You Become Involved

  • If you want to improve your English skills, I invite you to follow @SteemEnglish and interact with my posts.
  • If you know someone who wants to improve their English skills, please let them know about @SteemEnglish or resteem this post.
  • If you have suggestions for topics you are interested in, then let me know in the comments section.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/board-school-blackboard-chalk-font-64269/

Sort:  

One of my native english teacher told me, If I want to learn foreign language I need to learn their culture as well, it is for better understanding of the context of the language itself. Thank you Nate @steemenglish

I completely agree. You can not separate language and culture. That is why it was important for me to learn so much about Budaya Indonesia.

I am still learning about the idiom, because it reflect the culture of the language, or at least the way of the native talk about something

Hey, is there any Steem Francais or Steem Nihongo? I'm learning those languages and would like to improve them.

I am sorry but I have not heard of any other language communities. If I hear of anything I will let you know.

Thank you! I'll keep checking in the meantime as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67