Are Masterclass Classes Worth It?

in #learning6 years ago

Masterclass-lesson-plan.jpg

I joined Masterclass in Autumn 2017 for $97.

To me, that was a cheap investment.

Over the past 10 years I’ve spent thousands of dollars on writing classes in traditional classrooms, I’ve also paid for weekly writing groups and taken online courses on topics like blogging.

In other words, I’ve tried lots of different kinds of online and offline learning classes.

Each style has pros and cons.

What you get out of them depends on how much time and money you can invest and what kind of learner you are.

What I Took on Masterclass

I took “Steve Martin Teaches Comedy” first because I wanted to learn how to inject more colour and comedy into my writing. I’ve no desire to become a stand-up comedian!

I was familiar with Martin’s comedy. I’ve read his autobiography Born Standing Up and watched a lot of his stand-up shows.

Martin was a teacher I could learn from.

In his Masterclass, Martin talks about how to find your comedic voice and how he writes and delivers jokes.

It was fascinating to hear Martin talk about his early days in comedy and how he got started. The comedian also provides several practical takeaways.

Next up?

Malcolm Gladwell teaches writing.

How to Get the Most from Masterclass
I recommend Masterclass to creative professionals who are on a budget. Pick one class and see if it’s for you.

The All-Access Pass is useful if you plan to take more than one class.

For a modest amount, you can invest in your craft and learn from current experts without investing thousands of dollars in a fancy MFA.

Masterclass also is useful for creative professionals who are further along in their careers but want to keep up by learning from masters of their professions.

Masterclass Pros

  • Affordable
  • Offers access to top-level creators, writers and artists
  • Includes succinct materials
  • Features high-quality video
  • They post new courses regularly

Masterclass Cons

  • Not all classes are relevant to everyone (a Deamau5 student probably won’t get much from Steve Martin’s Masterclass)
  • Technical students should stay away
  • Community forums are hit and miss
  • Students need an affinity with their teacher

Want more? Read my full Masterclass review.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bryancollins! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81