My Lego design: Star Wars Snowspeeder

in #lego8 years ago (edited)

This is my Lego version of snowspeeder from Star Wars. It's used in Empire Strikes Back movie to fight imperial walkers with a harpoon. I started designing this model in 2011. First completed model didn't satisfy me for long so I redesigned everything from scratch couple of times. In 2014 the model started to be good enough and I decided it's finished.


snowspeeder on my desk, note the x-wing project on the backround


this model has 2191 parts and 3 functions


image originally made for lego ideas site (i might post a tutorial of photography techniques used in this image)


cockpit has two mechanical joysticks which control airbrakes, flaps and rear harpoon


a glimpse of the joysticks and mechanics


model made it's way to Lego Technic book so it was worth the design process :)


my hands for scale :)

Thanks for reading!

Previously released by me on:

http://www.eurobricks.com/forum/index.php?/forums/topic/96421-moc-t-47-rebel-snowspeeder-instructions-available/

http://www.eurobricks.com/forum/index.php?/forums/topic/51236-moc-technic-rebel-snowspeeder/

http://mocplans.com/designer/drakmin/rebel-snowspeeder.html <- instructions for this model here

https://ideas.lego.com/projects/20213 (also on my flickr and imgur accounts, hispabrick magazine and sariels book)

Sort:  

This is cool @drakmin.

I'm following you. I'm looking forward to hopefully seeing your image editing tutorial in the near future.

Thanks! Do you have any specific wishes for a tutorial?

I'd like to know the exact process of how you made that third photo. Hopefully I can achieve the same quality in future projects, with the help of your tutorial.

Okay! I will try to break down that exact image and show what I did. I think I could do it tomorrow.

You should apply for a job for LEGO :-)

I fear half of the fun would be removed if a hobby is turned into a profession :) Deadlines, how to satisfy normal builder (kids) etc. Though as a kid I thought I would work for Lego.

I have not thought about it. Yeah all the pleasure could go if there is such stress involved...

Wow! Thats pretty cool! And Happy Birthday!
I like robotics and technology stuff if you have any stuff like that to share! I will follow you , and am looking forward to more cool posts! Thanks for shareing! Steem on! ♨😉♨

Its so cool that you actually designed this! And they put it their book! How awesome is that! Way to go! ♨👍♨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77