Down Memory Lane, at Easter LMAC #15

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

shaka easter flower bunny more eggs4 work copy.jpg


This picture represents my entry into @shaka's letsmakeacollage Easter challenge.



Easter! Easter means life, for me. And @shaka's picture evokes memories spent frolicking around the countryside, usually with a pet in tow. Here's a picture of me, many years ago, in a typical scene:


boots me and D for shaka blog.jpg


Note the dog and the cat. That's my younger sister, hiding from the sun, which is just beginning to warm the earth after a long, cold winter. For the photographers out there, this might have been taken with an original Brownie :)

Yes the dog, Boots, was that big. He was a German Shepherd/St. Bernard mix. Temperament was definitely St. Bernard, because Boots was a life saver, literally. He was the gentlest dog I ever knew. No matter what we did--for example, trying to ride him like a pony--he never protested.

To get an idea of just how obliging this dog was, take a look at the confident cat in this picture:


boots and cat.jpg


Boots was dearly loved, because of his temperament and because he was one of the family. There's a story my mother used to tell about Boots that helps to explain why he was held in such high regard:

One chilly winter morning my younger sister was playing on the back porch. She was about five years old. Boots was out there with her, and my mother was supervising from the kitchen window. Suddenly, my sister took a tumble backwards, down a steep flight of stairs towards the concrete platform below. My mother could not run fast enough to save my sister from calamity. But Boots could. In a flash he leapt and grabbed his charge by the collar. Gently, he pulled her back to safety.



As remarkable as he was, Boots was not the only dog we looked to for protection and companionship. Over the years, there many wonderful animals. Rex, for example, our collie, saved my brothers from an uncertain fate. The boys were walking their customary mile to the bus stop when a car stopped and sinister men came out. Rex, who always walked part way with the boys, would not tolerate this. His usually benign aspect turned vicious and he attacked the men. They returned to their car very quickly.

I don't have a picture of Rex, but the dog in this picture looks a lot like him:


collie pixabay2.jpg

Image: Free on Pixabay



My Collage

With so many wonderful animals in my life, it was natural for me to include them in @shaka's Easter challenge. You wouldn't go on an Easter egg hunt without your dog, cat and bunny, would you?




The original picture @shaka offered to us this week:

shaka 15 original.jpg


Every week @shaka offers the Steemit community the opportunity to make a collage and win prizes. This is a chance to stretch our creative muscles and also to have fun. Please check out the contest. Plenty of time to enter this week, and even if you don't enter, you will be charmed by what you see in the collage gallery.

Thank you, @shaka. I had special fun this week, with my walk down memory lane.



All elements of the collage are in the public domain:

  1. @shaka's original
  2. Bunny: castleguard on Pixabay
  3. Easter Egg Basket: coleur on Pixabay
  4. Easter Eggs: NickyPe on Pixabay
  5. Girl and cat: Eme on Pixabay
  6. Dog: MabelAmber on Pixabay
  7. Assorted flowers: Paint 3D

Family pictures are not in the public domain---obviously :)

Sort:  

Hey @agmoore,

this dog, is it an Australian shepherd?

I like them so much. Hope to get one in a few years.

Best

Chapper

Thanks for reading my fun blog. I love dogs and enjoy writing about them. Looking at their pictures makes me smile :) The dog in that picture is a border collie, and to answer your question, yes! I didn't know they were used specifically in Australia to herd sheep until you asked the question. Looked it up here.

Our dog was gentle, loyal and very intelligent. We've had a few who weren't so clever--that becomes evident quickly :) This dog came our way accidentally--all our pets came to us in the same way.

I hope your dog, when you finally connect, is as wonderful as ours was.

Have a great week!

Peace

AG

U2!

Dogs are pretty cool. I love them too.

At least the friendly dogs...

They're lovely stories about boots and Rex. The pic with the dog and cat together is a cracker too 🙂

You were lucky to have such wonderful and unique pets. Although I can see from your writing that they were family.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so happy you like my pets. They helped to shape my personality, I think. You're right. I was lucky.

Thanks for taking me down your memory lane with collage and story. It looks similar to my memory lane on Easter and my very first camera was a Brownie. LOL! Your dogs are heroes!

Thanks for sharing that with me and for appreciating my dogs. They are heroes, aren't they?
Something about Easter does bring the past back. I hope you have a very happy one.

@agmoore You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99