You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another Kind of Moon Landing, for #LMAC

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for participating and once again for embedding your entry into such an interesting context.

One remark to the famous first image. Whenever I see it, it's described as showing the earth rising over the moon. Also here the caption reads "Earth rising". I always get stuck on that. How can one see the earth rising over the moon if the moon doesn't rotate in relation to earth ;)

Good luck with the LMAC!

Sort:  

As a photographer, you will appreciate that this terminology seems to be a matter of perspective. See this video. It's the astronauts moving, I believe, that gives 'rise' to the earth when it appears on the horizon.
This reminds me of your comment about Lagos. The Portuguese 'discovered' something that had been there all the time. New to them. They were actually invaders.
History (my field) and photography are really good reminders that when we look at anything, perspective matters :)
Thanks so much for your comment. I love blogging, and I love your contest. Playing with your images has contributed to my perspective.

It's the astronauts moving, I believe, that gives 'rise' to the earth

Exactly, here it's the observer who is rising :)

Glad to hear that you keep enjoying the LMAC.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68094.05
ETH 3777.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71