LGBT Global Awareness Initiative - 30 STEEM GIVEAWAY!

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

We are giving 5 STEEM to six authors that contribute a post on a current event, issue or topic related to the LGBT+ global community.

Members, allies and any interested bloggers encouraged to participate!


rainbow-world-map-1192306_1920.png

Since joining Steemit, I have encountered so many people in the LGBT+ community from all over the globe, and it is clear that we have very different voices and social experiences. So I want to open up the space to learn more about what’s happening globally.


WHY an LGBT Global Awareness Initiative?

Awareness Creates Solidarity

My hope is that this initiative will give the context needed to understanding the day to day challenges faced by members of the global LGBT+ community, so that we can create more genuine connections and conversations. One of the greatest acts of love we can give is our devoted attention to the needs and concerns of others. We can all attest to the spark that arises when someone says they have visited your country or city. How much more intimate to say, ‘I know the ways your home makes it hard for you to be queer.’

Awareness Creates Empathy

As a North American, I recognize that while not yet arrived, I am privileged to be living in a country that has legal protections for LGBT+ citizens. While I will proudly share my story, I want to always be sensitive to those that are not allowed to be as vocal.

Awareness Creates Compassion

I believe this initiative will further open our eyes to the misinformation and poor ideologies that exist in the world about queer people. It hasn’t taken long to discover that there is inflamed rhetoric being published expressly to offend LGBT+ Steemians, but the way we will combat ignorance is by being informed.

peter-hershey-282615 (1).jpg


How Can I Participate?

1. Write a post of interest related to the Global LGBT+ Community

I want to leave the content of this post open ended, as there are so many issues and topics that can be covered. For instance, some topics to choose from may be:

  • Overview of LGBT+ Rights/Laws in a specific country (i.e., Egypt, Indonesia) or a in a Specific Region (South America, Northern Africa)
  • Mental health perceptions of LGBT+ people throughout the world
  • Transpersons access to surgery and hormone therapy in various countries.

But the content may also be more personal and specific to our present LGBT+ Steemit Community:

  • What have you learned about the global LGBT+ community since joining Steemit?
  • Conduct a brief interview with a fellow LGBT+ Steemian in another country and ask about their personal experience
  • What is the process of changing your name in your country?

    2. Use the LGBT, LGBTQ+, Transgender and related tags

    3. Leave a link to your post in the comment section

    4. Upvote and Resteem this Initiative!


    Deadline

    This initiative ends on Friday, February 9th at 9:00pm EST

    All links posted in the comment section will be reviewed for quality, and properly cited sources to avoid plagiarism. The six winners will be announced and receive their 5 STEEM reward on Sunday, February 11th.
    Rules: the only "rules" are do not be offensive! Otherwise, all posts welcome no matter how long, short or the topic!

    Love and Steem On

    160820mc_tida wright_0193.jpg


    TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

    Image Sources

Sort:  

I am so glad to have come across you and this post (thanks to Curie!). As a gay man in Malta, I am pretty much privileged. However, coming onto steemit, I have not interacted much with the LGBTQ+ community, as most times it doesn't form a crucial part of my identity.

I tend to write poetry, and I have realised there is a disconnect between my reality and the perception of the global community. Maybe not on here, but on other sites, I have received multiple feedback asking why I talk from the "woman's" perspective in a relationship; or assuming every love poem I write is written for a "her/she", even though I'm open about sexual orientation. It does not bother me that much, but I can understand how this heteronormativity can be a hindrance to many other LGBTQ+ members.

Furthermore, I am a psychology student and during two group presentations, we focused on trans* people's issues in the workplace and/or therapy. Even though I am blessed to be privileged to not face much discrimination or harassment, I refuse to ignore other's struggles. I have bookmarked this post and will try to find enough time to write a comprehensive high-quality post on this. I'd love to become more active in the LGBTQ+ community in steemit.

I made time for it. It was on my mind all day so I just put everything else aside and worked hard on this post.

I hope that you find my post interesting, and that it provides educational experience for a lot of people. https://steemit.com/lgbt/@poetrybyjeremy/the-rights-of-lgbtq-individuals-a-deeper-look-into-the-equality-laws-of-malta

Great initiative! I'm looking forward to reading all the posts that are entered!
Here's my post!

It's nice that there are initiatives like this and its great that you are supporting them with a possible reward. I want to see a steemit community that as inclusive as possible.

So I put this up tonight hope you enjoy the read and consider me for entry into the contest! Have a lovely night ;-) ;-)
https://steemit.com/transgender/@steampunk-penny/transgender-101-episode-1-what-does-it-mean-to-be-transgender

Really great project! I'm new here on this froum, but I am trying to write more about lgbtq issues. I think our voice has to be heard...

Good work.nic posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64