3 brilliant queer web series to binge watch on a rainy day [TV discovery]

in #lgbt6 years ago

It's been raining away in Cape Town so I've had lots of time to perfect my tablet-gaming/series binging skills. No really, I'm getting seriously good at this. I think I'd have a shot in the lazy ass Olympics. I've also been doing a lot of writing (for those of you following this account because it's called fox fiction and you're waiting for me to bloody well write something again... I know I know. I've been lost in the lore for steemmonsters, writing up epic amounts of potential backstory with Blue team alpha. We have to hand in today so I'll be able to get back to writing other things for a bit...)

OK, so where was I? Right, webseries. More interestingly, queer web series that are actually well done/funny/entertaining. Well, don't worry, I have three of them to suit any rainbow palette. Without further ado, this is what I've been unwinding my brain into and why:

Inhuman Condition

Oh I made you look didn't I? A queerio blog post recommending LGBT+ series that starts with something called Inhuman effing Condition? Wtf!! Well, it's not what it looks like OK, so get off that high horse. This one is a super slick treat and a cool concept to boot. What would it be like to be a therapist... for people with weird ass superpowers? That's the theme Inhuman Condition attempts to tackle and it does it with the help of Torri Higginson (Weir in Stargate Atlantis) in the lead. The queer elements are more subdued (more about the relationships of the characters happening in the background), but it's very cool that she has an ex-wife as an openly bi character and at least one of her patients is queer too. It's a really fun sci-fi-lite romp with great production values for a web series. You can check it out here:

Her Story

OK so if you're in the mood for something more serious, this one's a great choice. A genuinely touching, beautifully done love story featuring two women (one cis-gendered gay and one trans bi(?) ) and a handful of other characters, some of whom are admittedly a bit stereotypical. Still, the message gets through and it's an awesome story. I do tend to get a bit irritated with the whole 'lesbians discriminating against trans women' vibe that seems to be so prevalent in all these dialogues, but not because I disagree that it happens (yes, you, I see you, get off that horse). Rather, just because it really shouldn't matter whether a person is trans or anything else - definitely not to the point where people get actively hostile towards one another.

At any rate, I really enjoyed this one and it has one of my favorite characters of all time in it. You'll know her sassy ass when you meet her 😉

Queering

Finally, one I've just started watching which is pretty damn funny so far is Queering. I'm not going to go into too much detail as I don't want to spoil the first episode twist, but the main character is such an asshole and you find yourself laughing at her with the other characters. Seriously, they've even named her Harper which links her kind of 'love to hate' vibe right back to our favorite clueless queerio - Piper from OITNB. I'm not sure how this one is going to develop as I'm only a few episodes in, but it has the potential to be very amusing.

Right, that's it. I'm out (and also running out of good queer web series, so if you have any suggestions please post them!) Have fun with those, I need to go write a submission for the latest steem monsters contest (Yes, yes, I know it's an addiction. I need the packs OK? I'm looking into treatment options...)

Thanks for stopping by,
Foxfiction

Sort:  



This post has been voted by the lgbt-party group and curation trail. The point of this group is to bring real community to steem, and to fight for our rights and recognition. This includes rewarding the typical blog-style posts, questions, and helpful comments.

Come join us on discord! : https://discord.gg/RWemhCv

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png
Delegate to @vis4 via SteemConnect:10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66