You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's LGBTQ Awareness Month. Why?

in #lgbt6 years ago (edited)

People are still being beaten killed and rejected by their families for being homosexual. If LGTB people want to organize a month for themselves you cannot really stop them; from my experience they are great at organizing. And you cannot say they do not stand for other things; Last year many pride parades turned into pro immigration parades.

I understand that people can be to sensitive sometimes. But I guess the question iso; are you "offending" someone, or really hurting them?
While I think offending people is something to be avoided; I rarely swear and try to dress appropriately. It is much more important to be kind than be polite, sometimes it is preferable. You really have to let people laugh at things; it helps them deal with the changing world and grow accustomed to it.

Genuinely hurting someones feelings is not something most good people want. It is always good to treat people how you would want to be treated. Sometimes I just have to ask myself; is it really worth it to say what I am saying?

Kids seem to learn everything from Tumblr these days good luck with that.

Sort:  

I think you made some really good points here. It's a shame that you - who is apparently all about kindness - could not resist trying to offend me, or at least paint my position an uneducated one - in your closing sentence.

Such immaturity really detracts from the second and third paragraphs which I had just been nodding my head throughout.

And though I suspect you're already completely aware; I do not even use tumblr or twitter or facebook or any "please look at me" economies. I think you are being dishonest with yourself if you cannot see clearly from the post that I have given this an awful lot of thought. If I had not, I would not even consider myself entitled to an opinion on the matter.

People can be informed of every single thing that has happened regarding the LGBT community, and yet still never have stopped for a second to reflect on the information they are repeating. This is the case for most unfortunately - in my opinion. For it is too hard for me to believe that someone who wants to be seen as an equal could repeatedly make decisions that seek to divide if they had given those decisions and the belief structures that brought them to those decisions any level of scrutiny.

Sometimes text can make things come out in a way I do not intend. Just view my last comment as a reaction to our crazy world not yourself.

But to what particular decisions are you referring?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86