Maybe I am or maybe I AM...but I'm really not.

in #liar7 years ago

Ever since I was young, people would ask me if I was Greek, or Persian, or "whatever" . I am 36 years old. Since I was 18, when someone asked me about my ethnicity, I would them that I am Italian. I don't know why, I guess I watched too many Italian "mob" movies as a kid or something. I just thought it sounded cool to say that I was Italian.
As far as I know, I am NOT Italian....
My grandparents (on both sides) are Mexican, which makes me, well I guess Mexican... this is the first time I've ever been honest about this btw.
Like I said, I don't know why I tell people this... I guess it's just kinda fun.
Maybe I got it from my dad, he would tell his co-workers that he was Native American. He would tell people that he was Mohawk, or Cherokee, or Mohican.... it would vary (depending on the movie he had watched last).
So, with that said....
I'm in a bit of a predicament.
My boss hired a guy that is FROM Italy. Interviewed him, my boss interviewed him and then he was hired.
On his first day on the job he mentioned that he was from Italy, and second day talked about his old home town (in Italy)...
On the third day I worked with him, he came up to me and said "I didn't know that you're Italian! Here I was telling you that I'm Italian and you never mentioned that you were too!"
Someone at my work told him that I was "Italian" ...
....FUCK. ME.
I said "yeah, I've got a bit of Italian in me (mostly on my Mom's side of the family)" ...then I trailed off, mumbling some other bullshit.
His response was "oh! sigh you're a 'white boy'".
My last name is Villalva, love the LA Dodgers ... (why do people believe me?!)
I figured I had two options... kill him to keep my secret safe, or lie...
That night I googled "Italian heritage", and had a "story" lined up if this guy asked me about it again ...
I am the descendant of southern Italian citrus farmers.

IMG_0573.JPG

Sort:  

Just here to tell you that whatever you are, or whatever you're not, you look like a rather lovely example of a happy human being. :)

Glad to be of service! Hope it made you smile!

What do you uh... what do you think was in that danish...

Yeah, I've gotten that before. I wish I was from Greece.... that place is on my "bucket list "

I am from Greece.

"Don't believe me, I am a true liar"-Vennu

What is your top 3 favorite punk banks
?

Oooo that's a tough one.... Cocksparrer, The Spits, The Damned, X, Agent Orange, and Crass all come to mind.... dunno if I could narrow it down to just three.... how about you?

Congratulations @cellardoorzero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99