You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Racist "libertarian" nationalists

I am honestly sorry that you had that experience with Libertarians but I am glad you brought up this issue. It's painful to hear about the darker elements of the party for sure and I wish I could reach those people.

Unfortunately, I do not have much success talking to them because they absolutely do not have any love for me and the lifestyle I live, most would rather have me out the party indeed.

One thing I can do is reach out to those who have seen more of that side of the LP and try to provide a better conversation in the hope of getting you a positive experience with folk that identify this way.

Please let me know if I can help, thank you for reading this.

Sort:  

I'm not even sure any of them are in the Libertarian Party... they may be "small 'l'" (non)-libertarians.

Thank you for the kind response. Those folk make it hard to have principles, it feels like some are a lot more interested in pushing the limits of free speech than protecting it for instance.
It's disheartening to see ideas I consider to be morally correct being used by bullies as a shield when they want to stir up trouble.
My strategy of ignoring them is not working out though I have to admit, but like you said, engaging that crowd is beyond frustrating.
I'll do what I can here on Steemit about keeping the bar raised higher up over that muck, that's a promise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81