Can the union survive the culture war?

in #liberty6 years ago

People are often mystified by how a civil society stood by and watched their country descend into totalitarian tyranny. "Why didn't they stop it?" is the question they find so mystifying. Well, you are seeing it happen again today, and again civil society is standing by. I am not mystified. I get it.

Even many libertarians have "cucked" and chosen to bow to the speech police. Keep your heads below the radar, and hope you escape. Don't mention the unmentionables. Don't defend the undefendables. I have lost a lot of the respect I held the libertarians in.

As for me, I listen to everyone, I talk to everyone. No person or group is beyond criticism. So long as you do not initiate aggression I remain open. I will defend those who are putting their heads up into the firing line---I don't care what their opinions are. It is the principle.

If you're not going to stand up for something as American fundamentally as the 1st amendment, what kind of American are you? What kind of libertarian are you? Why would I bother to defend you?

The civic national agreement is in tatters, even though lip service is offered dutifully every day. It sounds hollow, phony. Everyone can feel it: we no longer see each other as extended family. Not everyone can say it, but everyone feels it. The civic national America is slipping away in the rear view mirror.

When the culture comes apart, it is over. It is palpably real now that we have become two, irreconcilable nations, each unable to breathe in the presence of the other. This is what the boomers have done, in a stupendous display of ignorance and arrogance. Yet, one nation can thrive again without the other: the other can only perish without the first. Make no mistake about this truth.

If we let the natural thing occur, the union can be saved. If we do not, the union will break certainly. The question will only be, whether peaceably or by massive bloodshed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70