You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My adventurer grandfather, and how he tried to turn me into Lara Croft

in #life6 years ago

That was a very interesting read! You sound like you're a hybrid between Sarah Connors (terminator) and Lara Croft. That apocalypse vibe definitely reminds me of Sarah Connor. Many crazy stories and definitely an interesting/memorable childhood. I noticed that your shoes didn't look particuarly hiking friendly haha. Chucks?

My dad had the notion that life in America would be difficult for a minority immigrant so he taught me to fight as a kid to defend myself. Not sure if it was a result of learning to fight that caused me to get in many fights but needless to say, he was right. Then he set out teaching me that nothing in life is free and you have to get what you want. He made me collect rent from his tenants as a 10 year old, collect past due invoices from his customers, stock trucks, go on deliveries, taught me how to home remodel, put up walls, electrical work, plumbing work, etc. Forced me to train my body physically by running and doing calisthenics daily. My childhood memories were horrible as I was always working and and training, dreaming about doing all the things kids would do.

Hindsight, I guess our family always has our best interests at heart as they were just teaching us what they believed to be the necessary skills to survive in our environment. You definitely sound like you have the necessary survival skills and obviously a good head on your shoulders from the content you put out. Loved your story and I'm a big fan of Indiana Jones' adventures. I actually wanted to be an archaeologist like Indiana Jones at one point until I spent a month in Albania doing very boring archaeology work. I mean it wasn't even archaeology work. I literally spent a month cleaning diving gear and running USB sticks back and forth 2 miles on foot in 100+ degree weather to a weathly millionaire. Decided I'd rather fund the archaeological excavation than do the grunt work.

Wish you a successful and exciting 2019 trip!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot, @aagent! This was a special topic for me so I am very happy you liked it :-)

I noticed that your shoes didn't look particuarly hiking friendly haha. Chucks?

Well spotted, hehe! I think back then I was able to get away with a lot more than my knee problems and perpetual aches allow me nowadays...

My god, your childhood sounds really intense. However, it is the kind of thing that one might resent as a kid but actually there are a lot of adults that only start developing these skills a lot later in life (and some never do!), so at least you had a head start.

Wow, I also wanted to be an archaeologist at some point but was also put off by the mostly trivial and unfulfilling work that it requires (the exciting work in the super amazing locations comprises a very small percentage of the actual work that needs to be done and it is mostly reserved already by the big names and those who have enough money like the person you mentioned).

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write such an interesting comment, I really enjoyed reading it. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73