I Can't Feel My Tongue! (a recent true story)

in #life6 years ago

Almost two weeks ago now I got three of my wisdom teeth removed.

I was told that there would be some minor risks that come with the procedure but was ensured that nothing would go wrong and I would be fine. Although I was at first in a great deal of pain, the recovery was quick and soon felt much better. The right side of my mouth however was still numb as if it had just been given an anesthesia injection to numb it. Why could I still not feel it after a week?

After looking it up on the internet and reading a variety of scary issues that could be keeping me from feeling my tongue, I scheduled an appointment at the doctors. I kept biting my tongue accidentally, I couldn't feel it at all, and it was impossible to taste on that side.

When I got to the doctor he looked at my mouth, told me that everything else was healing nicely but that there was a problem. He had accidentally injected through the nerve sheath of my lingual nerve, hitting it with the needle that numbs my mouth for the wisdom tooth removal. He then told me that I may not be able to feel or taste normally on that side for a few months. MONTHS! I guess I should have read the fine print in the potential complications more carefully since not being able to feel or taste and having constant pins and needles on the right side of the mouth is extremely frustrating.

I can't feel the area in blue.

Be sure to UPVOTE and FOLLOW
--Aaron

Sort:  

Yikes! Doesn’t sound fun at all, hope it goes away quicker than expected!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55