New Years Resolution 2018- The Most Valuable Skill I Can Learn

in #life6 years ago

This year I will learn to code

That's my New Years resolution. It seems simple but in reality it will be a huge commitment. My plan is to practice for an hour a day. I haven't yet decided what language to learn and what program to use to teach myself but I plan to figure that out today. I'm looking for advice and I know there are a ton of smart people here on Steemit so if anyone has advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Why do I want to learn to code?

For a variety of reasons. First, there is the fact that I have an idea for an application almost daily. I have so many ideas for tools I want to make that will make life slightly easier. Next, we live in a quickly changing world where computer programming is an increasingly important sill. I want to make sure that I don't fall out of touch with technology and I believe that learning to better utilize it and to shape it myself will keep me ahead of the curve. Lastly it is good for the human brain to be learning new skills. In addition to the fact that coding is useful on the job and in everyday life, learning new skills helps us to be better thinkers, learners and problem solvers.

I'm looking forward to getting out there and making new things to share with the world. In the mean time I'm looking for help so if anyone knows of a good way to learn/what language I should start with that would be awesome!

Be sure to UPVOTE and FOLLOW.
Thanks
--Aaron

Sort:  

Very smart and valuable resolution. I've always wanted to learn but also don't know where to begin.

I've been shown this before... but never gave it a try: https://www.codecademy.com/

Best of luck on your coding adventure. Perhaps someday I'll get myself to dive in.

I've heard of code academy. I'll have to check it out. Thanks!

Good resolution.. You think right.. Wish you best of luck and may you succeed in kearning coding.. Where you ll learn it?

Nice Revolution here are some website you can learn and get materials
http://tutorialspoint.com, http://freecodecamp.com, http://edx.com and many more when you have problems you could visit stack over flow

Go for it, learning to code will quite literally change the way you think! Especially when it comes to problem solving.

You could do a lot worse than Al Sweigart's book Automate the Boring Stuff with Python, which is available to buy at your usual shops, but is also available free online at: https://automatetheboringstuff.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59