My Birthday Musings: Three (3) Points Pondered

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"We live in deeds, not years; in thoughts, not breaths; In feelings, not in figures on a dial. We should count time by heart-throbs." -Philip James Bailey

Cakes, candles, party hats, and gifts - these are some of the things we imagine when it comes to birthdays. But what do birthdays really mean? Is it simply all about those stuffs? What occupies our mind on birthdays?

pcc bus moments sept 2017 (9).jpg
Caption: I seldom wear makeup. That's just me. Happy birthday to me! :)

As I turned 2_ last week, I reflected and Steemians, I'll be happy to share my birthday musings to you.

1. Birthdays aren't all about wrinkles, it's all about the twinkles of life!

When my birthday was approaching, I felt that "uneasy" feeling again. I looked at the mirror and saw my face - my outward beauty is fading. For a woman, it's disastrous. I don't like wearing those BB cream or some cake foundations. I got some allergy on it and consumes time. What to do? Well, with all of the insecurities in my heart, with all the upcoming wrinkles threatening my girly self, I woke up early in the morning, and poured all of these negative feelings to God.

sept 24 emergency meeting  (8) 2017.jpg
Caption: Posing crazily with a friend

Yes, we all do grow old. Our beauty may fade, but never our character. By God's grace, He can sustain the joy within us. Life is not all about appearances and charm, it's all about kindness, love, and humility. I just want to share this reminder to you:

" Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight." 1 Peter 3:3-4 NIV

IMG_2999.JPG
Caption: That's me when I was 5. :) Charming?

2. Birthdays aren't all about hatred, it's all about friendship!

The friendship formed between families, neighbors, classmates, church mates, and work mates is more precious than the most beautiful topaz. God gave us birthdays to remind us that we are loved. I am thankful for those who gave a slice of their time just to greet me via SMS and Facebook. A friend of mine even traveled for two hours just to celebrate with me. I felt so special. Thank God for the treasures of beautiful words and delightful smiles.

28879758_1808355292532441_981355510_o.png
Caption: That's my pretty friend, Charena. She's one of my closest "wavy-haired" friends.

In forming relationships, let us keep this in mind:

"Cultivate the habit of speaking well of others. Dwell upon the good qualities of those with whom you associate, and see as little as possible of their errors and failings. When tempted to complain of what someone has said or done, praise something in that person's life or character. .. God calls upon us to think of His mercy and His matchless love, that we may be inspired with praise." - - Help in Daily Living, 34.3

Life is too short to hate, my dear. Spread love. Spread sunshine. Cherish every kindly act and be patient with the inadequacies. Cheer someone up today. Pray for the struggling souls around or give a hug to a family member!

post.jpg
Caption: Our hearts should be so beautiful like the flowers. How? Let love dwell in the heart.

3. Birthdays aren't all about fears, it's all about hopes!

I used to dislike my birthday. For 20 years, birthday for me was all about selfish gratification. It was also about fears. I feared about getting older and uglier. I feared about not being successful on my endeavors. I was blind then. But when a tragedy struck my family, (I'm a Typhoon Washi survivor, by the way), I was awakened from my spiritual slumber. Then I learned about the value of life. Birthdays shouldn't be all about our fears, it should be about our hopes. Let's count the blessings God has given unto us for the past year. Let's reflect on His tender mercies and believe that He will again do miracles in the future.

2222.jpg

"All our sufferings and sorrows, all our temptations and trials, all our sadness and griefs, all our persecutions and privations, in short, all things work together for our good. All experiences and circumstances are God's workmen whereby good is brought to us. " - Help in Daily Living, 30.3

Steemians! I hope this post inspired you to see the good side of life. Let us welcome our birthdays with excitement and gratitude. God bless us all!


Please continue to support @surpassinggoogle
If you haven't vote your witness yet, vote Terry now!
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Oh, don't forget to vote for @paradise-found and @yehey, too. :)

24883098_2065431536805563_26208448_o.jpg
------------------------- # @abigailloveremo ------------------
steemitfamily.jpg

new-grateful-vibes.gif

abilove.png

Sort:  

Happy Birthday @abigailloveremo!!
Your words are beautiful, as are you Abigail. <3
May God bless you today and throughout the coming year!!
Bear Hugs for your B-day!! x0x0x

Thank you @paradise-found! Thank you for the bear hugs! Xoxo.
Have a delightful day! I praise GOD for having amazing Steemit friends.
May God bless you too and your family. Sweeter as the years go by in faith!

Belated Happy Birthday Ma'am Abi =) Looking forward to be our future colleague sa PERA. God bless.

hello maám @shangpb. :) :) Thank you. Yes, looking forward also to be one of the PERA family. Maám shang, diri diay ko nimo nakit-an. hehehe

Great post mam @abigailloveremo. God Bless

thank you @fherdz. God bless you too.

Happy birthday girl, nice post😊 real beauty found real face no make up at all.

thanks a lot @reroelbuton. Blessings! Beauty inside out!

I wish you all the love you deserve in the world, sis @abigailloveremo <3 Happy birthday!

How sweet! @bloghound. :) :) Thanks a lot. Steem on! sister...

Happyt birthday. Very nice post. Thanks for sharing.

thank you @ajasmin14. :) Glory be to God.

Happy birthday @abigailloveremo!
Birthday is not the food, nor the decoration, not even the greetings.
Its the love that you feel from the people around you, specially your loveones.

thanks for the greetings @guruvaj. :) Yes, it's the love that we give and receive from people that matters and the love of God!

I love reading your post

Life is too short to hate, my dear. Spread love.

My principle is "Life is simple don't make it complicated"

You are correct when you said spread love.

hello @joeysison. :) Thank you. Yes, spread love.

thanks for the reminders @abigailloveremo ..indeed true let us not conform to the pattern of this world..

Oh. Hi @jackielouvarquez. Indeed, Romans 12:1-2. Glory be to God.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73