Quarterlife Crisis? ( I think I'm having one.)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

camiguin (4).jpg

Standing amidst the two diverging roads in a dumpy, cold forest, all senses are working yet the mind is in a still. Which way would she choose? Should she choose the less taken road? Or the one paved and mostly taken by travelers? In a world where you cannot choose two but one only, in a life of which you can only take one step forward, lest you fall, choosing the choice that is best for you can be a puzzle.

Are you on your late 20s? Then, maybe that's what you feel right now.
I'm one of you. I'm suffering from:

"Quarter Life Crisis".

i.love.abi.jpg

I was enjoying my early twenties life - having a comfortable job at home (online ESL job) while doing missionary work, traveling to different places, studying in a graduate school, enjoying my time with friends and family - when suddenly my 25th birthday came.

profpic (5).jpg

It was somehow normal at first. But as the days passed by, I realized I'm heading to 26. As I turned 26, I knew I'm heading to 30. What on earth I'll be doing then?

abeo 2012.jpg
Caption: My batchmates

First,

I sometimes wake up in the morning and ask myself, "Why am I here? Did I make the right choices?" I could still remember how my classmates rush to big cities to find good jobs. I didn't go. Why? My mother got sick and my dad was most of the time working in other places. I stayed coz' I knew I have to take care of her. Had I joined my classmates on that venture, wouldn't have I been happier?

Second,

some of my friends have found the love of their life. And I'm still here - alone. I was heartbroken before. I walked out of some kind of unhealthy friendships. I chose not to enter in an immature relationship. Did I make the right choice?

blog4.jpg

Third,

sometimes I find myself sitting alone in a bench and wondering. Where are my contemporaries? Most of the time, I work with younger colleagues. They seem to be fresh and active. I tend to blend with them and encourage them. They get so inspired. But how about me?

Fourth,

15 years from now, when mom and dad might be resting already, will I still be alone? Will I find joy in melancholy?

BeFunky_null_5.jpg.jpg

Fifth,

I have fears , there are many of them. Though people call me a smart-good-pretty girl, I still don't have that confidence. I still feel shaky when I talk to new people , especially those of my age. I still get scared when my education teacher tells me to do a class demonstration. And I'm not done with my lesson plan, yet!

Lastly,

I also have the fear of choosing the wrong choice. Your choice now will bring a great impact of your life. I have seen people making some big mistakes in life and suffering the consequences for a lifetime. Oh, God, please spare me!

blog1.jpg

Conclusion:

I have talked to a friend and read some blogs about Quarter Life Crisis. I have learned several things about it and have understood myself on a better view. But still, I'm struggling guys.

Traversing into an unknown path, questions of uncertainty filled my mind. I just couldn't get the right answers. I chose to submit it to God then.

On my next post, I will share to you some of the positive quotes and realizations I have come found.

Blessings!

@abigailloveremo

blog2.jpg

Sort:  

Hey, nice post.
I enjoyed a challenge and decided to start one myself. See the picture in my post, guess the location, and win 0.1 SBD every week. Where Is This Challenge

Awesome! Thanks @steemitfamilyph. Highly appreciated. :) Blessings!

I share similar sentiments with you. I realized that as I age my questions lead to somewhat existential in nature. I wonder with a lot of whatifs. “What if I joined a different company?” “What if I chose to teach instead? Will things be different.”

Then slowly they turn into something like “What do I want in the first place?”, “Why am I putting pressure on myself?” “Do these dreams matter anyway.”

And that’s when things get confusing and harder to swallow, so I choose to just stop or I might lose a piece of my mind. I just say to myself that “everything happens for a reason”. All the things that happened either by fate or by choice molded me into who I am today, and somehow I feel content and happy.

Hope things go smoothly for you @abigailloveremo!

Hi @anotsopopularkid. :) Thank you for empathizing with me. Oh, then, I'm not the only one here in Steemit who is having QLC. :) Yes, I should not put pressure on myself. Thanks for reminding that. :)
Yes, that's true everything happens for a reason. God has plans for all of us. We should not dwell our thoughts on regrets . Have a nice day!

Hi, very relatable post you got here. :) I, too had once found myself torn in a fork road. I'm not yet in my late twenties but life is fast and there's no stopping that I'm heading there anyway. Remember that story about Hansel and Gretel? They were lost but they dropped pebbles along the path they have taken so they can find their way back. It really doesn't matter which way you go. If you fail, you just have to pick up all the pieces and start all over again. The key is simple: do not give up! And there are no wrong decisions, just poorly made ones. But life was made in such a way that you learn from your mistakes and get better at reaching decisions.

I hope this makes you feel better. Carry on, @abigailloveremo! :D

Oh really! @saiyanide. Hi, there. Thanks for the amazing words. Yes, lez not give up! Yes, life is fast. Oh. thanks for reminding me about that H and G story. :) Let's keep moving. steem on!

Same here! I am uncertain if I am on the right path and did not know that there is a so-called Quarter Life Crisis. I thought it is only Mid Life Crisis.

Currently, it feels like I am under much pressure to prove something. It feels like the time is ticking and I have a deadline. It is frustrating and is making me feel unaccomplished. I guess I need to have my quiet time to re-assess things. Thanks for sharing this. Now I know I am normal because I am not the only one experiencing such. :) we'll get through this.

Hi @hundredlbsbeauty. Nice meeting you! Thanks for dropping by. Oh, really, you've got QLC ,too? Thanks for the sweet words. Yes, it seems that society is giving us some kind of deadlines. And if we fail to meet that, it's game over forever! God bless you. :) I'm glad this post help you understand your situation. Keep praying and moving in life.

I like to read every post you .. I also learn a lot of steemit from every post you. Whether it's writing or photos.
Thank you companion steemians..
My curiosity you want to visit my blog awaiting for me..

Hi. :) @imranpase. Thanks for reading my posts. Highly appreciated. Take care always. Keep steeming! :)

Life can seem to be one constant struggle to figure out what you need to do for your own life with the circumstances you are given. I hope God gives you the answers you need.

Thanks a lot for the kind words @daveonarrival. Yes, I may not find the complete answers in this life, I'll stay choose to live and trust God. Have a nice day!

Congratulations, your post received 4.11% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @abigailloveremo! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Nice - I will be following you!!

Thank you @Paradise-found. Highly appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66750.69
ETH 3470.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.23