The Three (3) Valuable Lessons I learned from College

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"Every young man or woman should weigh the matter well before concluding that a college education is out of the question. Orison Swett Marden

WorkingImage.jpg
Caption: With my college buddy, In-in. College life was all about ups and downs!

As an academic geek, I grew up in a world where having good grades matter. It shouldn't be just good, it should be very very good! Despite my kinda rigid academic training in grade school, college life was still really a new world to me.

IMG_2262.JPG
Caption: It's a privilege and a blessing to received a college diploma. We all have our own college stories and I'll tell you mine.

College life wasn't just all about lectures, exams, projects, and demonstrations. There were things that I learned beyond the four walls of the classroom. It's a roller coaster ride in a colorful world of learning, joy, and acceptance.

Here are the three (3) valuable lessons I learned from college:

1. I learned about TIME MANAGEMENT

Amidst the tons of assignments, exams, and projects that we have to face in college (especially in a good state university), there must be also time for the family, for hanging out with friends, spiritual retreat, and doing housework. In college, you have to learn how to handle this. I'm not perfect with this. At first, I was just too focused in my studies. I didn't know how to cook before, but when I took my master's degree course, I have learned about time management. Education isn't just all about lectures and notes, it's all about life skills or practical skills.

chainstory (3).jpg
Caption: These are my classmates posing during a college event. Pretty in purple? :)

Time management is all about setting your priorities. I stopped watching unnecessary movies because I realized that time is gold. We can do social networking but don't overdo it. Always bear in mind that every second counts. I do have my organizers, and schedules to keep me alert. Thank God for the gift of time management. Although we sometimes falter, His grace is sufficient to lift us up and learn from it.

IMG_0473.JPG
Caption: There is a time for everything - a time to study and a time for repose.

2. I learned about ENDURANCE

Managing your time also means enduring to keep up with it. As a college student, there were times when I was about to give up. With all of those paper works and reading assignments, you just have to say, "Okay, I'll still go!" It takes a lot of prayers to really pursue the dream. I also thank my parents for being so supportive and my friends for the encouragements. College life trains us to the real world. It's actually just a slice of what is more to come. Endurance teaches us patience and tact.

cass (2).jpg
Caption: Hey, we ran the race and we endured! Soli Deo Gloria!

Like college, life is all about endurance. As a Christian, there is a race of faith that we daily face. We should not surrender because there is eternity awaiting - eternity with God.

"Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us..." Hebrews 12:1

MISSIN MVC.jpg
Caption: If you feel down, look up and gaze at His smile.

3. I learned about INTEGRITY

I don't want to sound like a hypocrite, okay? But College Life will really try to push you to the limits! There's a dirty, hidden world also inside. What is it? It's the word: CH_ A _ ING! :) I could still remember that moment when a classmate threw a crumbled paper on my foot. I looked at her puzzled. She whispered, "Throw it to them!" Later, I found out that wasn't for me, it was for my classmate sitting nearby.

SAM_1257.JPG

Integrity at the center of our decision-making faculty helps us choose right above wrong, good over evil. It keeps us honest with ourselves and with our fellow human beings. - Judith Nembhard

College teaches us what integrity is. As the hope of the future, are we, youth, going to be honest and responsible? Yes, it could be a tough life. Having exams daily for a week can be really struggling (understatement), but integrity lies in our hearts. College life will give us many opportunities to see how far can we go and how "faithful" we are to what God is calling us.

july 2012 (2).jpg
Caption: Have fun college students. :) Embrace student life with zeal!

For those who passed college, congratulations. You persevered! For those who are still into it, strive hard. Enjoy it yet maintain the value of responsibility. Learn to balance the different aspects of life. Above all, seek God's help. He will never leave, nor forsake you.

Excelsior forevermore!

Please continue to support @surpassinggoogle
If you haven't vote your witness yet, vote Terry now!
Write @steemgigs >>>https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Oh, don't forget to vote for @paradise-found, @bayanihan, @allaz, @arcange and @yehey, too. :)

24883098_2065431536805563_26208448_o.jpg
------------------------- # @abigailloveremo ------------------
steemitfamily.jpg

new-grateful-vibes.gif

abilove.png

Sort:  

Ipagpatuloy ang pag-aaral nang mabuti, ikaw ang halaga ng iyong mga magulang.

Lovely story.

Thank you for voting for Witness.

Your article is featured in @Yehey Daily Curation for additional mention and exposure to the world.

This post has received a 100% up vote from @Acknowledgement. Sponsored by @Yehey.

Please Vote @Yehey for Witness https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote.

Lovely.
@Acknowledgement
Join us https://SteemChat.com use $upvote [your link] to receive up vote.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by AbiLove from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I really Like your Post cause all is true

Thank you for this post. I'm in college currently and really relate to all of this. There are a lot of times where I want to give up, times where I don't appreciate my education, but perseverance, hard work and faith is what we all need to get by during the hard times and make it to the other side.

Oh. Excel @daddyku! God bless you in your college life. Never ever give up!

i always adore your blog formats sis.. way to go! steem on!

Hi @Junebride. Oh, really? Hehe. Thank you. steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66