FUNKADELIC Experience at NYSC in West Africa, Nigeria

in #life6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0985.JPG
Hello great steemians,
NYSC means national youth service corps. It's a body that facilitates the effectiveness of the Nigerian young graduates below the age of 30 to equip them for a year with the right characters an ideal tertiary institutions graduates should possess.

Without passing through this scheme you will not be qualified to work in any establishment that requires the employees being a tertiary institution graduate in the country. Of course, it is not a voluntary service, we are being paid a monthly stipend of 19,800Naira ( If a dollar=300 Naira that is 66$)

Could recall when the scheme sent a posting letter to my avatar stating I will be serving my country for a year at nysc, beginning July 26,2017. To be candid steemians, my parent gave me a gaze every child should get for the first time in my life. Mama hugged ' son, I am so proud of you'. ' go conquer the world 'dad added.
The day came, I was set for departure for the long awaited program. On arrival at the NYSC camp, it was a different kind of experience prior to what I've heard. The military personnels receiving us were not friendly at all, I was almost forgoing the whole program until the thought of the gaze and compliments I got from my family of how proud they were. I persevered and was ready to face what the scheme had for me. Told myself ' if others died, which they do every year. I will not die but live and make my mama proud'.
First few days were tough , I mean, really devastating .
sitting on the ground .jpg
Military drills and sun basking. I became very tonned in skin.
Preservance kept me going, cause I know it breeds success. I eventually got to enjoy the drills.
DSC_0284.JPG
DSC_0417.JPG

Found Love too, a real African queen.
with amara.jpg

Met friends that changed my life for good.
standing with rsm.jpg
with patience .JPG
IMG_20171117_121022.jpg
IMG_20170815_095307.jpg

Evangelism into rural areas where the word of God has not reached. I can recall getting bitten by strange insects but praise God. We conquered and won souls for God.
IMG_20180721_140716_530.jpg

Contributed to community development which I became a president of the community group. We gave out educational materials to school kids.
IMG-20171124-WA0032.jpg

And to round it up, because if I continue the event will keep on and on. I'm so grateful I didn't give up and I'm sure I learnt a whole lot from the NYSC. will forever remain true to the course of this nation and promise to make it great.
I got the certificate on completion and made my family proud, watch carefully you will still see my African queen still by my side down here. We finished together.
IMG_20180705_153333.jpg
IMG_20180705_150923.jpg
IMG_20180705_153547.jpg

Now what next?
I'm here on steemit to develop my passion to serve and to lead a generation to achieve their goals through ablefield foundation especially in Africa and I'm counting on you guys for your support. I believe a little act of kindness can go a long way. I see the work of @surfyogi. What he is doing for West Africa already, I believe we have all it takes to make it work out. I may not be financially okay to carry out my dream right now but I am seeing it in my mind, I have the faith I can hold it in my hands.
Thanks everyone for reading this. God bless you all. @ablefield. The real deal

Sort:  

@ablefield, enjoy the vote!

Have you claimed your FREE Byteballs yet? Check out this post on how you can get $10-80 just for having a Steem account: https://steemit.com/steem/@berniesanders/get-free-byteballs-today-just-for-having-a-steem-account-usd10-80-in-free-coins

I really appreciate this, I think I've gotten the free byteball already, or can I get it more than once? @introduce.bot

Ask and you shall receive. Nice story buddy and I am certain it really was hard work but as they say "hard work = reward." I look forward to the next steps in your life. 100% upvoted and now following. Keep up the good work!

Wow! Thanks so much for this, I believe your post on diligence goes with this too. Know I'm grateful and looking forward to learning from you @gooddream

Congratulations @ablefield! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@ablefield you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62