To my Mom...

in #life6 years ago

27-Perfect-Mothers-Day-Quotes-08.jpg

Today, May 10th, is Mother's day in my country of origin, Mexico. I would like to take a minute to recognize a couple of the most important people in my life, my mom and my wife.

I come from a relatively big family. I am the second of 5 children. All men. So growing up my mom had to face a multitude of challenges. We were a rowdy bunch. But at the end of the day, she was always rose to the occasion.
Her cooking was always amazing. It is thanks to her that I developed a healthy curiosity for different tastes, and a willingness to try new things all the time. Also while she struggled with diabetes since I can remember, she made it a point to teach us some healthy eating habits that helped me and my brothers avoid falling into the same issues.
In my opinion there are two types of moms. Working moms, and moms that work. While I do admire that my mom is the working kind, I am glad that my wife turned out to be the second kind. I noticed a long time ago a huge difference in the relationship between my wife and her mom and mine with us. I am glad my daughters get to enjoy a mom who chose to dedicate herself to the home until they were independent enough to allow her to go out and be productive outside the house. While financially it made things a bit harder, the relationship that was forged would be able to endure much longer.
All moms are very valuable. And I do believe that there is no one right way to do things. It is a difficult task to raise kids. One that should not be taken lightly.

I wish every mom a great Mother's day. From the bottom of my heart.

Until next time.

Sort:  

I think nowadays it is a luxury for a mom to stay home. Although the governmentrule was that a mother should take care of her children, should not work and get social security till the youngest child is 12 years old ( later on it was changed into 4 years old and who knows it is 6 weeks old by now?) Social security was refused to me. So I had to work. No money, no husband. It is that simple. I have big doubts about what you say. I have 5 children, 4 daughters and 1 son. My eldest daughters are: 34, 32, 27, my son just became 15 years old and my youngest daughter is 12 years old. So all raised by me and even in a different time. They are of different generations. None of them is a trouble maker and never were. No drinking, no smoking, no drugs . Well educated and the elderly good jobs. No debts and most of all: we are all very close to eachother and take care of each other. So how do you ecplain that? Besides of the fact your mom raised boys you wife is raising daughters? But still.. I have a son as well. It is not about the fact you are working but about the real time you spend and investin eachother. Quality time. Also... an unhappy mom, a mom that has no #metime, always needs to be there 24/24 will do no child any good. Children also has to learn to enjoy themselves, not to order and claim (and kick mom's ass if she is not needed). A mom is a human being, an individual as well. Not just a mom and cheap cook and laundry woman.
Today it is May 11th over here. Every 2nd Sunday in May it is Mother's day over here in Holland. So each year an other date always on Sundays. It is mainly a commercial day. Certain gift should be bought to make mom happy (according to the advertisements) gifts this mom is not happy with at all. You know what most moms are longing for? To have some private time to sit on the toilet or take a shower without someone (husbands including) non stop asking or banging on the door. Ever thought about that? How it is to be not able to go to the bathroom for the biggest part of your life? I wish the women in your life a great day but most of all a great life since Mother's day is useless if you are taken for granted 364 days a year.

Thank you for the long comment. It is always great to get a little insight into other cultures. I have lived in the US since I was 15, but I was raised in Mexico. My opinion is only based on my experience. As I said, I love and praise my mom. I think she did the best she could for me and my brothers. Having kids, however, does give one a different outlook in life. I believe that nothing can take the place of a mom at home. And nothing can give families the stability that a providing dad gives. I believe a strong nuclear family is more important for the betterment of society than all the government intervention in the universe. There are no less important members in a family. Have a blessed life.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97