THIS IS MY LIFE: ENTRY 27

in #life6 years ago

Continue to read, continue to write, continue to listen, continue to learn. So many of us fall victim to doing the opposite after we finish our education. We get caught up with work, relationships, scrolling through our social media accounts, playing video-games, etcetera; you know the deal. A mind that stops learning is not only a danger to itself, but to its community. Think about it, what is the one self-investment have you been putting off? Make it a goal to knock that task off by the end of the week. For me, it was writing this article. At the end of the day, you can teach an old dog new tricks if the old dog has been practicing new tricks its whole life!

A few weeks ago I had the privilege of visiting my alma mater for Hall of Fame weekend. Going back to Westminster is always a unique experience. Because of the size of the campus and student body, it does not matter what year one graduates from Westminster College. We have all walked in the same shoes. When a Titan connects with a Titan, they can relate. It's funny, I have actually become better friends with some Titans whom I never even spoke to during my four years of undergrad. It's a network some would call #TitanTough.

Transparency. This word is slowly becoming my favorite. First of all, who by nature believes that they are not always being as transparent as possible? Maybe some, but in general I believe we all think we are doing our best. The challenge is, how do we validate the fact that we are doing our best? Personally, I think it begins with the small tasks we engage in daily, and those closest to us. Be faithful and honest with these things. My amazing girlfriend has helped me magnify this lesson, and continues to every day. Make an effort to be more transparent with those around you. It may be tough. Truth hurts, but the truth will also set you free!

"It's all real and it's all illusory: that's awareness!" Ram Dass

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82