Good Ol' Me Time

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So I had this long weekend thing before this week started. I thought I’d share it here to let some stuff out on how I feel about it. :)

Thursday afternoon, wasn’t just another day. I felt like I needed to go out with some friends for the night, but since they were just too busy [having fun], couldn't help but let anxiety punch me in the face. I felt so uneasy that night that I had the hardest time in getting myself ready for bed. Friday came and I still felt, alone. I had no one to burst out my feelings to. And being at home was just too normal a routine for me that it’s making me crazy (you know, just playing PS3 and being on the internet all the time). Until this friend gave me a light bulb up my head. To go escape from reality for awhile and to that one place I could call home - the beach. Getting all hyped by excitement, I asked my parents if I could go to Badian, that one place where I could  alone, not just in a good way, but on the brightest of all days. They agreed. Called my grandma that lived there and told her that I’m staying with her for the weekend. Packed, got some cash ready, got a shower and in just under an hour, I was walking outside on my way to catch a jeepney bound for south terminal where a bus could take me down south. 

And there I was, seated on the back almost part of the bus, with my bag around my arms in case someone tries to grab it, on my way to paradise. A 3-hour trip is a lot shorter than you’d think when you feel like you’re going somewhere where you can feel so much ease. 

Finally arrived, said my Hellos to my Lolas, aunt, uncle and cousins. Had a little chat with them too. After some time, I asked lola if I could borrow the motorcycle so that I could go around the ‘lungsod’. Little do they know, every time I have that motorcycle, I always go to the beach, my home. Lambug beach was the name of the place. When you see it, you’d never even think that it’s a public beach for it’s beautiful white sand shore and clean surroundings. There, I could whatever I want. Bought a Sprite, had a few cigs, and just sat on the shore looking at how God could give me this amazing view of the sunset.  

That time, I had some time to think on stuff. Stuff about life, why friends just seem to come and go, why relationshits became the new relationship, what I really wanted in my life and how would I achieve it. It may sound ridiculous, but this time, I didn’t get the answers. All I wanted was just to be there, be in that moment that I’ve always needed for so long. A break. So there, just sitting, feeling that fresh air that wasn’t always in the city.  

2nd day came, and I was looking forward to get some salt water and sun rays on my skin. Invited my uncle and cousins to go with me, but they politely said "Next time!" So again, hopped on that “motor” and drove back to the beach. Had a swim and just laid there. Went to a store and grabbed a beer then went back to swim again. It felt really good having that gnarly alone time. After 3 hours of being there, it was time to go. Went back to the house with a big smile on my face. :D 

Later that evening, I had an interesting time. Went online to see what was happening back in the city. Just scanning around Facebook and Twitter, the next thing I knew, I was having a Twitter conversation  with a new friend. She’s a classmate from school. Funny thing is, we don’t even talk when we’re in class. I find her fun to talk with, never actually talked in person, but just, fun. :) It was a long Tweet session, but had to end for it was getting really late. Had an awesome time though, really awesome.

Last day of the 3-day escape, and still, the plan was to take a last dip at the beach. Just like when you’re drinking your favorite drink, you gotta have it to the last drop. Had lunch and then it was off to another [mini] adventure. Usual routine: swim, coke n smoke break, swim.  

And as what everybody says, all good things must come to an end. But for me, it was a start of a new adventure. Every time I get to have a long weekend, I would definitely go back to paradise. It’s a dream I’ll always have, to live by the beach. And with some time, dedication to profession, and help from the Universe, I’ll surely make that dream a reality. And will be looking forward to that phase, for sure. 

Circa 2012

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73