ADSactly Fun - How to Train Your Parents at Mealtimes

in #life6 years ago

How to Train Your Parents at Mealtimes

Today, I attempted to write from how I thought my toddler would look at the world...

Your parents will want you to eat, so fellow toddlers, my advice to you is to make it so that it is completely enjoyable for you. The main thing is to refuse to eat unless your parents get it absolutely right!

Let me tell you about what I have achieved for my mealtimes. I have a different set of rules for each meal time!

BREAKFAST

At breakfast time I have cereal mixed with yogurt and fruit purée. I have to be in the kitchen, held in one arm, whilst Mom prepares breakfast with the other hand. She's actually getting quite good at it now! It has to be the right fruit purée or else I won't eat more than one mouthful (basically not apple purée on its own, which was once my favorite).

When this is ready and mum has made a "cuppa teeeee", it's time to go into the living room, where my fold out baby deck chair is ready for me to climb on. Before I take a mouthful of breakfast I;

  • ensure that my favorite scene from a DVD is playing (at the moment it is a 3-minute section of Shrek the Halls, or Scrat the Squirrel's Gone Nutty short on Ice Age, previously it has been scenes from In the Night Garden and Waybuloo);
  • have to have my noisy plastic nursery rhyme book to hand and also my toy bus;
  • make sure that Mom is sitting with me and ready to feed me my yogurt breakfast, with her "cuppa teeeee" next to her.

Then I am ready to eat my breakfast (most of the time teehee)!

LUNCH

There are two acceptable scenarios for lunchtimes depending on whether I'm indoors or outdoors. There are only four jar flavors at lunchtimes that I will eat - Autumn Orchard Chicken, Mediterranean Beef, Fruity Chicken and Chicken Curry. I'm even very particular about which one of these I have. It's whatever takes my fancy at that particular moment.

If I am indoors, I have to have lunch in my room watching a Peppa Pig DVD, either sitting on Mom's knee, or placing a book on her knee and have her read to me, whilst I watch the DVD and eat my lunch. She has to read and feed me. I don't like to make things too easy!

When I'm outside, I used to not mind sitting in my buggy, but now I like to sit on the actual bench (any bench will do) and eat my lunch. I'm not too fussy on this, as there is nothing better than eating in the great outdoors.

DINNER TIME

Mom and Dad used to try and sit me in my highchair to eat dinner, whilst they were eating theirs. But after many nights of constant crying whilst they tried desperately to eat and enjoy their own meal, they succumbed and let me roam about.

At the moment, I have some of their dinner, especially the meat - chicken, pork, bacon, and fish. I'll eat chips, rice but anything else no thank you! I used to eat veggies like green beans, peas, and carrots but I won't anymore!

So often I get some jar food, as well, Mom and Dad want to make sure that I get enough of these things they call vitamins and nutrients and I don't mind the veg that I come across in them! Often I will create a circuit, usually something like getting up and down off the sofa and running to the bathroom door and back, stopping to get a mouthful, before running around the circuit once more.

It's all fun and games! This was definitely the hardest meal time to train my parents on, as they did put up quite a resistance!

SNACKS

I'm quite good with my snacks, I'll eat rice cakes by the dozen, cheesy puffs by the packet and healthy fruit treats in triplicate! They just have to keep topping me up and providing the snacks, so I don't revert back to demanding the boob.

I've got quite a savory tooth, so I'm quite partial to a naughty pack of cheese and onion or bacon flavored crisps once in a little while. I'm getting into my sweet stuff though, I quite like custard creams and bourbon biscuits, but not too many.

I don't make too much of a fuss about snacks. I mean they forever ask do I want this, do I want that, so when I'm peckish all have to do is nod my head and the snack is provided! No point making too much of a fuss - I'm not demanding 100% of the time (yes I am, just not with snacks at this present moment - its all subject to change)!

SUMMARY OF HOW TO TRAIN YOUR PARENTS AT MEAL TIMES


Some key points for successfully training your parents at meal times, that you need to remember are:

  • Keep refusing your food until your parents get your eating conditions right - lots of pointing, leading,
    more pointing and saying “ah ah ah ah” can work in training them;
  • Obviously, crying can help;
  • Persistence is vital as your parents will try to have you live by their rules;
  • Make your parents think that they are in control - if you eat, they will be happy!

While you are small, try to have to have your own way. It is the only definite time you will get your own way. Older children have told me there will come a time when I will have to do what my parents say and do, but I will resist until that time comes!

Words by: @hopehuggs
Pictures courtesy of Pixabay

Do you have any funny toddler tales or tales from childhood to share?


Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness! Go to: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Hhh that can work
thank you for the advices , Nice to change the routine a little bit
Thanks for sharing

Well, it's not that different these days. It's obvious that kids raise their parents and not the other way. As a school teacher I can see lots of stuff similar to this. Only one thing doesn't change in this modern world: kids are always right. From what I can see, parents are so 'lost' in this modern world, that their kids are their only way out of it and from any problem. So, they choose to give them everything, and right, whether they are wrong or right.
What about your story? Well, I like the way you write. It's very nice and simple and THE MOST IMPORTANT: it's easy to read it. There are stories when you start with them, you give up very soon. But not here: it's very 'readable'. Nice!

It certainly is easier to let them rule the roost, but it will come back and bite you when they get older if you go down this route.

The developmental level of healthy and balanced nutrition from the infancy period is also at a good level. It has been scientifically proven that academic achievement levels of well-fed school age children are higher.

Haha , this seems to be one of the funniest topics the children love to do .
Intresting point of view , and really good way of presenting tips and facts . So good to see people taking care of it .

good2, Amazing......!!! DANCE SAMAN ACEH Winner 1 in POLANDIA
https://steemit.com/blog/@zulibnuwahab/o2bk8kwl

@zulibnuwahab spam !! don't do this again

Thank u brather.

All you can do is try your best and PERSIST.

This is an awesome and funny post @hopehuggs. Kudos. :)
While applying those rules, you should be careful
For parents here is what i think and how i was raised up. The thing is parents control the supply lines. They decide which foods to buy and when to serve them. Though kids will pester their parents for less nutritious foods, adults should be in charge when deciding which foods are regularly stocked in the house. Kids won't go hungry. They'll eat what's available in the cupboard and fridge at home. If their favorite snack isn't all that nutritious, you can still buy it once in a while so they don't feel deprived.
From the foods they offer, kids get to choose what they will eat or whether to eat at all. Kids need to have some say in the matter. Schedule regular meal and snack times. From the selections you offer, let them choose what to eat and how much of it they want. This may seem like a little too much freedom. But if you follow what i said in the first paragraph, your kids will be choosing only from the foods you buy and serve.
Food preferences are developed early in life, so offer variety. Likes and dislikes begin forming even when kids are babies. You may need to serve a new food a few different times for a child to accept it. Don't force a child to eat, but offer a few bites. With older kids, ask them to try one bite.
Thank you very much. I appreciate your effort in writing, it was a beautiful piece. Great message
What an awesome society this is. Thanks @velimir for inviting me, i have no regrets. Privileged to be here. Not everyone has that access to great content.

Yes, strategies definitely change with age. It is my mission at the moment, to try and get them to like cherry tomatoes, but it ain't happening yet.

Oh man, what I am reading. This is funny and interesting both at the same time. This thing was never in my mind literally.

A great article with a sense of humor.

Yeah, its interesting and a bit funny at the same time

I like to try and put myself in my toddlers shoes/kids shoes and it makes for some entertaining writing, even when I write them, it makes me giggle.

I have one from the parent's perspective. "Eat or Starve."
End of story.

They are more likely to get that approach these days

Excellent article with a great deal of humor. This is the so-called manual for babies about the correctness of nutrition ... or how to behave in order to influence parents.
I liked it - it's easy and fun to read. The most important is the content - and this is the right food. We do not often forget how to eat properly and the main thing is how much there is. In a hurry people do not have time to watch their food, and when experiencing emotional overloads not infrequently they begin to overeat. I think that everyone should think about the quality and quantity of food consumed - this is a pledge of longevity and strong health.
The biggest long-livers of the planet are advised to - LESS worry, and eat Less than usual, and most importantly more often. Better it will be frequent meals - for small portions - than rare and large portions.
Thank you

Brilliant comment as always @frank1in. Try to start good habits as young as possible.

Took me some time to get the rythm of this article, I don't remember if I followed these rules as a baby hehe but I sure developed certain preferences from a young age.

Hahaha nice i am curious now how will my sister communicate with her new baby during meal times.. 😊 i like the healthy meals you used as an example.. I can actually apply it for myself as an adult 😎

Maybe we need reminding as adults sometimes lol

yes true ..since being adult means you can eat whatever you want but sometimes not thinking if that was healthy or not.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94