Help me find a photo of my grandfather (USMC WW2-VN) on the front page of San Fran. California Newspaper Nov. 1944

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow @steemit - @dlive - @dtube users,

I am going to place the three photos here prior to the story as an easier point of reference:
Grandpa 1.jpg
Grandpa 2.jpg
Grandpa 3.jpg

--- Okay, now the part we are asking for help with ---

My grandfather enlisted in the United States Marine Corps shortly after the attack on Pearl Harbor at the age of 17 and was part of the initial landing on Guadalcanal. He hopped beaches in the Pacific for 32 months when he received 30 days leave before returning to combat in The Pacific until the end of the war. (after 6 months of heavy fighting in Okinawa.) He continued his enlisted career for a total of 25 years becoming a Sargeant during The Korean War, a Gunnery Sarge prior/during Viet Nam and retired as a First Sargeant.

Recently my mother sent me an article she had never seen before in one of the United States Marine Corps footlockers that belonged to him and was left to my two brothers and me after he passed away in 2008.

I took photos of the article found which describes a blood-soaked Rising Sun flag he brought home as a souvenir and was on the front cover of the San Francisco newspaper holding it during the 30 days leave period mentioned above.

For those that may happen to live in the area or perhaps are better at crawling the web than I - My family and I would be more than appreciative if anyone is able to find the photo mentioned in the article / the newspaper scan.

At the time he would have been PFC John Stanley Lanesky - (This part is tricky as his enlisted name was John Stanley Lanesky although his surname in some documents at the time and then after The Korean War his surname officially was "Laneski" (I've found documents/photos of my Grandfather using John S. Laneski and John S. Lanesky during WW2/Korea which may make this hunt a bit more confusing. Although with this Newspaper clipping stating "PFC. John S. Lanesky" I assume the San Francisco newspaper would state the same.

It states he set out overseas in March of 1942, the newspaper clipping as you see states after "32 months, receives 30 days leave" which (knowing me I may have messed up) should be November 1944.

My grandfather was my lifelong hero... his passing devastated me as it was sudden and to be quite honest I have still not fully recovered from losing him in my life. I have footlockers filled with journals, maps, logs of the status of the soldiers he was leading during Korea (with MIA, KIA and descriptions noted). While he was buried in his USMC Dress Blues with all of his medals and ribbons we received copies of them all from the USMC and I proudly hang them in memory.

I suppose you could state I have years and years of memories, photos, video together and what have you but... finding out that he was featured on the front page of a newspaper during World War 2 and not ever hearing about this was quite eye-opening - which leads us on this hunt to find the image of him holding the flag.

Even if this does not end up resulting in any findings I just wanted to thank everyone who read this and anyone who attempts to dig and find this image/clipping with all of my heart.

Sort:  

Very cool post. I hope someone who can help you out sees it.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Why thank you, I voted for you as a witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69935.17
ETH 3451.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69