Life long lessons (School) - by @dragonslayer101

in #life6 years ago

I have never enjoyed school, but that is normal for most people. School is a subject that many students hate. Ever asked someone how their day at school was. The answer is generally, "it was school" or "alright" and that is where that conversation ends.


Image credit

But why is school so bad? Is it the teachers? Is it the students? Is it the work? Or is it our fault?

When I was in school I enjoyed a some days, but these were always days that something exciting happened or I discovered a new adventure. I remember sitting in on of my English classes and thinking to myself, "what on earth is the point of all this? I am never going to use this subject in my life" but this was not the only class I thought about in this way.


Image credit

Life Orientation, LO, my most hated class where we learnt about life... Where 10% of your grade mark was based on how near your book looked. But on day one I made sure that the teachers new that my book would look bad, thus they never even asked for my book. What I hated most about the class was that it taught useless lessons to me, drugs, smoking, drinking and sex. These were things I was taught years before never to do, but what made it worse is that these thing get taught each year at school. So this became one of my "catch up on sleep" classes.


Image credit

To me school felt like a prison, my inner adventurer forced to sit down and do the same thing day in and day out for weeks. Surly there must be a better schooling system for people like me, this I often thought to myself. But after years of struggling against the system I finally gave into it and started to enjoy school a whole lot more. I found reasons to love school, the caring teachers, the fun activities, the students and even the work (but only some classes). I always hated English and LO and always will.


Image credit

Only at the end of my schooling did I realise that it was my fault for not enjoying school. Only once my attitude had changed was I able to realise that it is not everything that happens around me that determines my happiness, but the way I deal with these things. I hope that we will all have the right attitude.

Sort:  

i miss my school time, mostly university

the problem of school is that it don't really teach you the work life. like school is disconnected from reality life

Looks like those English classes turned out to be quite useful after all huh?

I am not fully with you here. I think that a lot is dependent on teachers for students to enjoy being in the school

I miss my high school years but i gotta admit, it was boring at a time

I strongly believe there is a problem with our current education system, but people also should not rely on any school system to be the sole source of a child's development. I have sat through a few school board meetings in my life and there usually isn't a whole lot of communal support, aside from an occasional group with a specific agenda who plead their case and leave. Parents have the ability to influence what goes on at school, however the sad truth is nobody really cares too much. So I say, "Blame the parents!"

a surprise is Steem will continue to increase because people are realizing the importance and value of Steemit, which is fired crazy with cristomania, and we have to continue to support, all the friends that enter the steemit, for being our allies, in the network and our future and every day more we learn something new. Thanks for news and Steemit is promoting to achieve great success.

do not worry bro shortly you'll see that time will pass quickly!

Thanks for sharing your past here in this post. I am by profession a teacher. I really respect your thoughts, but we humans have to accept realities of one's position at every stage. We have different feelings as a student. But we teachers are bound to follow the regulations set forth for us by the departments.
Now a days I remember one of my teacher's words,"Put yourself in the shoe of others and then think how it pinches other."
Stay blessed

I enjoyed my school life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01