Californication

in #life6 years ago

I'm out visiting my Dad this week out in California. One of the things that I truly enjoy is the ability to drive my Dad's dream car. Back when he was in his 20s he had a 1964 1/2 Mustang. My grandfather had them too. Dad did pretty well financially in his life and one of the gifts he gave himself was this classic Mustang.

I remember one of the best days of my life as being when I drove around in one of these predecessors. I was on I-5 right next to the ocean. I was driving a classic Mustang that purred when it idled and roared when it was go time. I had 20 bucks in my wallet, and I had a beautiful girlfriend I was sharing the day the with.

Getting to the beach in my Dad's classic Mustang

The bluffs

After heading to the ocean in the Mustang I went out and took a walk on the bluffs. This bluff walk is one of my favorite views in the world. You got a blue sky, deep blue water, and a touch of desert landscape.

It's a touch of a vacation

I'm still online a ton, still checking DMs, still working on projects, but with a nice change of scenery and a nice a visit with dad.

Sort:  

Look at that view! I half way expected you to rip off your clothes and jump into the water yelling no regerts!

upvoted! traveling together with my dad in California right now, looks like a great visit!
my friends @world5list and @theywillkillyou told me about you.
keep up the hard work, really helps the platfrom.
Enjoy!

Awesome! Sick car, my Dad had an old MGB he wanetd to save for me, but when my little brother was born, my Mom made him ditch it for a station wagon lol I enjoyed listening to your orientation and some of the townhall the other night. I gotta get more into the Discords. So much to get into on/related to Steemit! lol

Ooo she's a beauty! My dad's '68 Camaro used to be candy apple red, but he was constantly getting pulled over it seemed, even if he wasn't speeding! They say it has something to do with the color red. Anyway, now it's a beautiful canary yellow, and it is still such a thrill to drive! So I totally get the feeling! Dads are the best, and I totally appreciate still having mine around, as I see you do too! :)

Mustangs are beast cars,your family has a great taste for cars.Let me hope you will add a lambo to the mustang collection hehehe.

Having time with Dad is a great experience in life,i remember the first time i talked and enjoyed time with my dad(it was awesome).

Looks like a good day overall! Love the beach. I don't know that I would have gone swimming if I knew that I was going to be getting into that beauty when I was done. Wouldn't want to get saltwater on the seats or sand on the floorboards. Stuff is meant to be enjoyed, but not if you're messing up a 65 Mustang!
Enjoy getting to cruise around in that. I'd be giving you jealous looks if I saw you drive by. :)

I can totally relate. Growing up, my dad had a 1972 Datsun 240Z. That car would flat out haul. One day I would love to get my hands on one, although it is not cheap like it was in the seventies.

Nice that you are able to spend some time with your dad. Mine passed away a few years ago, and I often wish I could have spent more time with him. It is so easy to get wrapped up in our lives we lose sight that other parts are passing by. Have a blast, and keep making those memories with the ones you love.

Nice! I had a 65 in High School. Then I traded my Dad for his 68 because it had a 289 instead of a 6. Then I watched a couple of weeks later at my Dad's Asphalt Plant as that 65 burnt to the ground after being surrounded by hot asphalt from a leak. :-( Also, I played music in CA with a friend from Laguna Beach named Mark Turnbull years ago and remember how beautiful it was there......Anyway, enjoy, Mark

Driving your Dad's dream car being one of the things you truly enjoy speaks volumes about the level of tender attachment between you and him. No matter what we do, family is where the heart really is and where true love emanates from. I have a feeling that this pedestal of love is in abundant supply in your family. Please don't ever lose this love. It is the perfect bond of union. Happy vacation @aggroed

I’ve been to california several times and we would always hire a nice big convertible to drive around in. Fuel is so cheap in the US that engines are huge! Good days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98