Create a Life of Peace Through Mindfulness

in #life5 years ago

Learn how to take back ownership of your time and energy.

I want to take a minute to talk about mindfulness.
I used to think mindfulness meant self-monitoring. That I needed to reflect on the past, that I needed to think heavily about my actions, and that I needed to control myself as much as possible. My internal dialogue was negative and filled with constant criticism. My attention was constantly drawn to everything I was doing wrong.

mirror-4217694_1920.jpg
Image by Enrique Meseguer from Pixabay

I used to think things like: If only I had more self-discipline; I could do better. If only I exercised more forethought; I could do better. If only I was smarter; I could do better.

It was an exhausting, depleting, and self-defeating exercise. It did not help me forward. I realized that all of the time and energy I was spending self-monitoring was not helping me at all.

I decided to approach mindfulness in a new way.
I began to realize that all of those things that had been keeping me constantly occupied gave my mind absolutely no breathing room. Every day, I had been had actively, diligently, working to destroy my own inner peace.

I simplified my life. I let go of many responsibilities. I narrowed my interests. I enacted boundaries to make myself less accessible.

I decided to take back ownership of my time and energy.
I started practicing self-forgiveness. I worked on loving myself more. I worked on finding a deeper sense of self-acceptance. I learned to allow myself to be as I am, without the constant analyses. Without any judgment.

walk-1031039_1920.jpg Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

Instead of occupying myself all the time, I sought to free up my time. I made more time for me. I made more time for stillness. Stillness to just be. I allowed myself to empty my mind and sit in the moment. I allowed myself presence in the moment.

Then, something amazing happened.
I found clarity in the stillness. New ideas and new understandings came to me. As inner peace began to wash over me I found that many of the things I had been so concerned with, didn’t even matter at all. Problems literally dissolved into non-problems.

I found what was most important. I found what truly mattered to me. Everything else began to fall away. I realigned my life with new priorities. I found a new vision, new goals, and a clearer path.

I found myself.

-Akiroq Brost

Sort:  

Beautiful. Another useful exercise is mindfulness in those times when we think we could/should do or be better. Meaning, practice observing what is happening without judging or acting right away. Just noticing if I feel irritated it distracted or whatever, instead of attaching judgement.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment.
Realizing that choice, to know we can just observe ourselves, without judgment, is so powerful. Focusing on intent rather than outcome also really helps me to find acceptance of whatever circumstance I find myself in. It's all a practice, isn't it.

Congratulations @akiroq! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99