Mmmmm! Meatloaf....

in #life6 years ago

Meatloaf #1.jpg

I know when a lot of people hear the word meatloaf they cringe. Some just don't like the sound of the word and some have a horror story attached.... I know, I know... I've been on the wrong side of the table when some interesting meat of loaf is being served. This is the opposite... I would not share any recipe my taste buds didn't absolutely love.

This meatloaf is my favorite by far! It is a extremely easy and taste wonderful.

Meatloaf #2.jpg

The key to this recipe is the mixture of ground beef and ground pork sausage. The pork will help to keep the loaf from drying out as fast. It also adds a lot of great flavors to beef and other veggies in the loaf. Mmmmm my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

For a one loaf the recipe calls for 1 pound of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork sausage. I have substituted moose for beef in the past and italian sausage instead of regular. Works every time...

meatloaf #3.jpg

The eggs and the crackers are the ingredients that are needed to hold the meatloaf together. You can use what ever style crackers you want. I've used saltines, ritz, and other more healthy brands. It always works out.

So for this recipe it calls for 2 eggs, a sleeve of saltines, a small onion, green pepper and a few stocks of celery. I normally like to add a couple cloves of garlic as well but we were fresh out.

meatloaf #4.jpg

My mother would chop these veggies up smaller if she was in charge. She wasn't! This how I roll, chunky meatloaf style.

meatloaf #5.jpg

Everything is in the bowl: beef, pork, eggs, crackers(crushed), onion, celery, green pepper. This is where I say season to taste... Normally I would put 2 teaspoons of salt and a teaspoon of black pepper. Then mix all ingredients (I use my hands) till it all starts to stick together.

meatloaf #6.jpg

Form your loaf into whatever shape you want. Back in the day when I used to watch football, I was known for making football shaped meatloafs. The thicker it is, the longer it will take to cook and it will get crunchy on the outside.

I shape my loafs into a flattish concave egg shape.(above) I do this because the loaf will plump up quite a bit. I usually will salt and pepper it one more time before it goes into the oven.

meatloaf #7.jpg

Can you guess why I don't have a nice, straight out of the oven, after picture? If you said, I forgot about pictures because glorious aromas wafting around the house gave the meatloaf no chance at staying intact once exiting the oven, I would say you are correct. With a mouthful and a four letter word I took the picture above. Sorry....

MEAT.jpg

I see this recipe as a great base to make all kinds of meatloaf. If you have the main ingredients, beef, pork, eggs and crackers, you could make a thai, cajun or barbecue meatloaf... your imagination is the limits. If you do try something new after reading this, I would love to see or read about it.

Take care fellow Steemians,

Brandon

AK tiny home banner.jpg

Sort:  

Nice recipe. I bet that pork makes a huge difference in texture. My favorite meatloaf recipe uses egg plant instead of bread.I came up with the idea myself after trying a stuffing recipe that used eggplant.

The pork makes all the difference. Eggplant meatloaf... sounds interesting. Looking forward to you sharing that recipe.
Brandon

@aktinyhome,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curator group!

Please Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Welcome to the Steem Community @aktinyhome! That meatloaf looks yummy!

Please reply to this comment, and I will share your post with the @OCD curator team!

I accept. Thank you so much. It is really yummy!

@aktinyhome,

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 212!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


I love meatloaves of all sorts! This one's more like mom's with the raw veggies in it. Interesting that you start it out on such a high temp...but, you're using pork, too, so that helps keep the moisture in. Thanks for sharing!

Exactly! the high temp makes a nice crust. Thanks for checking it out.

I enjoy adding pork to beef when I can; so much moist goodness. When I am too lazy (or cheap) to buy Italian sausage I add an Italian seasoning blend I keep stashed in my spice drawer. Thanks for putting meatloaf back on my radar. -Aimee

No problem. We're bringing it back.... Let us know if you try out the recipe. Only time we buy ground sausage is when it is on sale. Which happens quite often on the non nitrate meat.

Thanks for the comment,

Brandon

Look really delicious, When I see this post make me very hungry. I would like to invite you to join my foodchallenge. You can win steem dollar and steem from me. If you would like to join please click the links below. Upvoted and Greeting from @chanthasam

https://steemit.com/foodchallenge/@chanthasam/win-steem-dollar-and-get-steem-with-food-challenge

Thank you so much! I will look into that. It is extremely delicious!

Congrats on the @OCD win!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62