Fuck Books

in #life6 years ago

Here's an unpopular opinion: Fuck books

And fuck reading.

Oh I know, I know, you're told that reading is great.

Books are great!

It's knowledge! 

Reading is feeding your brain and making you smarter!

It's a great pastime in this day and age of frivolous social media!

Successful people have developed a habit to read!

So if you want to be successful and awesome, you gotta read!

Right?

Nah!

This is precisely the problem with reading books today: People read shit they don't really care for because others are telling them to do so.

I can't even begin to count the number of useless books I've read, books that were recommended by a bunch of supposedly successful bloggers as they dished out their "Top 10 Books" articles and shit, most of which are in the circle-jerking genre, also known as marketing and entrepreneurship.

I'd feel a false sense of accomplishment when I finished a book, thinking that it'd change my life.

It didn't.

"Oh that means you didn't action on the things you've read Alden. You should read this book I found on taking action-"

No. Go away. Fuck you.

You know what I've read in my life that has changed my life?

Graphic novels, particularly Sandman by Neil Gaiman. It teaches me the beauty of art alone.

The Dragonlance series by Margeret Weis, a fantasy, fictional world that captures deep, emotional nuance.

The best book on self-improvement that was applicable to me was a book on picking up women by Neil Strauss.

And random blog articles by writers you probably never heard of.

But the point is, I love them. I enjoy the genres and I felt something deep down.

Reading is only great when you read about shit you truly love and care for.

Reading is ironic and delusional if you read shit others tell you to only. It really doesn't matter how great the book is according to others. If you hate it, you hate it. Stop reading and don't bother finishing it.

So fuck books that suck.

Read shit you only want.

Sort:  

Ha, made me giggle. The title definitely got me.

And your GIF got me. Haha.

With the multitude of books that appear every day, it is easy to be misled by so many choices and get lost in bad readings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87