Is Steemit Making Me Lazy As Fuck...? Nahhhhh, Ima Be Moving Forward!

in #life6 years ago

When I am strapped for cash, I source for additional sources of income.

As a writer, I look for writing gigs or freelance writing positions.

And many times, it's unsuccessful. I find myself giving up halfway.

The problem is not that I can't find open gigs available.

The problem is that I've personally rejected all of them so much so I never once even attempted to write for any of these gigs.

Why?

Because there are too many rules that belittles a writer.

All of these gigs require you to send in drafts so they can test you.

They require you to to adhere to their guidelines which is filled with stringent rules that stifle creativity.

And what I hate most of all is that they require you to write the whole damn article, send it in for evaluation and then they'll get back to you if they'd accept it or not. Needless to say, there is no guarantee that they'd want you or pay you for the effort you've put in.

I've a big fat fucking problem with this.

It grinds my gears that blogs or companies, big or small out there disrespect writers this way.

Oh sure, one would typically argue that a company wants good quality writing, and so they have their own standards. They'd carry out their own due diligence to make sure the article is good for them.

But come on...

It is all for the benefit of the company, not the writer.

They care not for the individual writer who has his or her own art, message. They care only for gathering a go-to pool of writers so they can have content readily available at any time, because to them, time and content (not art) for a company's image is more important than art.

This is where the aforementioned rules come into play. Then the world would say, "It's just survival of the fittest." 

And I think that's garbage.

I believe every writer or artist should be paid for their time.

I believe every writer gets to write whatever they want and also get paid for it.

I believe every writer, when placed in position where they need write about something they don't want, then they should be guided into it, not expected to simply the follow the rules and be punished if they aren't followed.

I believe in a world where this can happen.

Hell, is Steemit making me lazy as fuck? Have I been spoiled into not wanting to work hard as a writer since I don't want to follow the rules?

.

.

.

.

.... nah.

I've chosen this path.

Make me strapped for cash then. I've done the whole freelancing-write-about-shit-you-don't-care-for thing before.

It's not for me.

I believe Steemit, blockchain and crypto will change the way we work.

I'm here.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

hey do you also to German Text?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66