Perceptions Of Death And How Close One Can Be To You

in #life6 years ago

18835583_10154372544031883_6995742160038367399_n.jpg

Yesterday I received news that my friend, a local Bboy here passed on. He's dude in black with the cap in the picture above.

He had cancer.

No, we were not very close.

No, we didn't talk a lot.

Heck, I didn't even hang out with him in person once.

And no, this post is certainly not a typical "talk goods about someone only after they die."

Despite the fact that we were not close friends, he made a mark in my life.

I started messaging him on Facebook last year after I found out he had cancer. Back then, he was in remission.

I was honestly intrigued to hear about his perspective on life. I mean, not everyone has a truly unique view on life. You can't deny that.

He was cool enough to share with me how he was feeling.

I remember him saying, while in remission, "People make it like such a big deal, but really, it was like having a flu only."

Unique huh?

From there on, I always was willing to hit him up for a chat. When I thought of him, I knew there was a genuine connection, something rare today for most of us.

Alas, the grips of cancer came back.

Personally for me, I am always intrigued by people who are unique, in whatever way and have a different outlook on life. We don't have to be close. If you give me your uniqueness, I'll remember you forever and I'll always be grateful for that.

I find it ironic how most people here suddenly feel close to someone after they leave this world. To me, that's fundamentally wrong.

Yes, you shouldn't take others for granted and the time everyone has here.

Yes, open up and cherish the time with people you care for.

But do it in your unique way and included in that, sincerity, honesty and an intention to serve.

Anything below that, well, it's just a transaction.

Rest In Power brother.

Sort:  

GOD JOB stor loved..

For a random commenter or spambot, you just took the cake in being most insensitive ever.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

i feel sorry for him that he died, now he is probably in a better life, he leads a better existence, then the body is no longer needed, we get rid of him and we feel much happier, I heard that the next existence is very similar to now only that without a body. I greet warmly:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99