You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Evangelistic Enthusiasm And Bad Advice: Confessions From The Humbled... (Part TWO)

in #life7 years ago

"But, that is not one-size-fits-all advice. And this is what I mean by "bad" advice. Presenting a viewpoint as though it's an absolute Truth that can apply to nearly everyone nearly all the time.

(And here again, part of me might want to say this is a habit I picked up from my years in the self-help cult, where an onslaught of gurus, life coaches, and such fervently preach ideas and platitudes as though they've just been handed down the tablets direct from God. Those influences aside, I was still the one responsible for paying forward the bullshit habits.)"

OMG I cannot agree more with this. This was why and how I started my blog in the self-improvement niche.

I hate the lack of sensitivity. The "follow my method because it works. You MUST use it. Oh btw, pay $97 more and I can give you a better method."

The self-proclaim life coaches simply love preaching their nonsense. I was once told by a guy he never felt angry again in his life because of his weird ass methods. What! That's not even human!

We need a more honest and vulnerable to know that people who help are also human. Methods and solutions are for scientists and emotions are for humans.

Please, what works for you may not work for others. Please practice some sensitivity!

Thanks @rok-sivante. My blog is on my profile if you want to check it out.

Sort:  

Niiiiice. Someone who gets it! Haha. :-)

Great minds yo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59121.51
ETH 2993.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78