You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Newbie’s Guide to Flagging

in #life7 years ago

Don't know how this guy spoke to you exactly and it's too late in the night to check, but isn't flagging him an overreaction? I mean, the way the text tells the story, it goes immediately from him demanding upvotes to you flagging his content. The guy as you presented him is I agree very unlikeable, but I don't know, I would just ignore him, maybe flag the comments themselves but not the account.

I don't know maybe it's my rather "permissive" nature making me feel ambivalent about this.

Sort:  

Yes, if I had immediately flagged him, it would have been an overreaction. You're not wrong :)

If you flag comments, you're flagging the account, so there's no way around that.

The 'conversation' went downhill fast when he asked if I was a man dressed as a woman. None of his business if I was, but as I said... completely off-topic.

I removed every flag I posted and then saw that he and his friend had flagged (or tried to flag) as many of my posts as possible. Yes, I did laugh because I hadn't noticed.

Then I saw the abuse he levelled at a well-liked and respected member of Steemit, a guy that does so much good in his community and who reacted with grace and kindness to the abuse he received.

That's when I flagged the idiot and those flags will stay because he's been on Steemit as long as I have and yet he's whining that no one is giving him anything...

I had the impression he was a newb, but if he's been here as long as you have, the excuses I can make up for him are fast diminishing!

If you flag comments, you're flagging the account, so there's no way around that.

Didn't even know that! I've never flagged anyone, nor been flagged. Even spammy comments on my posts. I guess I'll get around to doing my duty eventually.

Yeah, it's looking more and more like it's what we're going to need to do - kind of like curating the whole Steemit Platform.

We have to take care if it, it's the only one we have :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75