Bird's Eye View of the Thanksgiving Day Parade 50-foot Tall Balloons

in #life6 years ago

While I'm always tempted to bring up the dirty underbelly of most holidays, I'll try to spare discussing any of those in depth this time around, such as how Thanksgiving is genocide day for turkeys, or the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade is basically a giant advertorial for early "nefariously insidious" indoctrination of children into mass consumerism. Ooooops, I did it again....! :D

The Thanksgiving Day parade wasn't always this consumer-oriented, and there was even a time when, as a kid, I was literally able to walk up to my favorite Sesame Street characters and say hello, and get a "ho ho ho" from Santa, just before he made his way on his reindeer-guided sleigh...

Now days, I'm afraid to leave the apartment once the barricades go up, as I've had enough run-ins with police over the years in the city (most often during the Thanksgiving Day parade or other similar events), where finicky police officers often seem to treat people as little more than cattle to "move along" as they see fit.

Get to the good stuff, will ya!

Well, I suppose I digressed a bit again, so I'll get right into sharing some of the cooler highlights of the parade, which includes a bird's eye view of the parade balloons, a bunch of which are filled every year the day before the parade on our very city block. It also turned out to be a beautiful sunny day for the parade, and only moderately chilly as well...


(video version of the balloons moving down the block!)



(the Angry Bird and the Sponge Bob with the Square Pants back-to-back, along with a beautiful view of the park on a lovely sunny November day)



(Dino the Dinosaur and the Pillsbury Dough Boy - notice how it took over 60 people to "safely" hold down the larger balloons in case of wind gusts and such)



(Here we've got "The Grinch who Stole Christmas", along with a reindeer in his hobo baggie)



(I call this one the "Hollywood Party Boy Balloon"...)

Apparently, the candy cane balloon ended up "popping" later on, perhaps cuz they tried stickin' it in places where it don't belong! lol



I hope you all enjoyed this "bird's eye" view of the 2017 NYC Thanksgiving Day Parade!

Wishing you all the best, along with a Happy Thanksgiving Holiday! 😁

As always, I appreciate your upvote, your follow and all your comments!

Sort:  

The Pillsbury Dough Boy looks like he's stage diving into the crowd ... lol! Can't help but wonder if that elf's stage name is Ben Dover .... : P !

I hope you enjoy more stuffing and trimmings for the rest of the holiday weekend, @alexpmorris!

yeah, he kind of does, and yeah, from one naughty little elf to another, Ben Dover sounds just about right! lol

The elf slaying NYC traffic on any given day of the week!

I should try this sometime.... maybe it will lessen my chances of getting hit by a cab...... or an Uber ...... or an angry Citibiker......... or a one-eyed delivery guy...

Do ya think this only works with elf clogs? Don't have a pair of those... Zappos is sold out. Will my swim flippers suffice?

that's funny, but it still can't come close to George Costanza's all-time classic NYC frogger clip from Seinfeld... 😁 lol

Haha! Forgot about that one!

Don't worrryyyyy if that candy cane pops.... that elf boy toy is made out of rubber! It's called practicing .... safe parading! : /

oh my, now that's really naughty sounding! lol

Naughty or nice.... it's that time of year! I'm guessing Ben Dover asked Santa for a spanking.... being naughty and all.

Thanks for using @hairshares tokens!

@hairshares are da bomb, everyone should use 'em and support a great cause! :)

Bird's eye view is so cool, drones are the best invention :)

drones are very cool, but in this case, no drones were used, just me hanging over the barricade separating our terrace from the ground a few hundred feet beeeeeeeeeeeeelooooooooooow! lol

haha even better than drones if you have no fear of heights

I think it was thrilling while travelling in baloon. Upvoted and followed

Great story, great pictures. You forgot to mention, however, how the balloons were filled. For example, did you know that the snowman was filled with hot air supplied by DeBlasio, the Candy Cane filled by Harvey Weinstein, and the Angry Bird filled by Hillary.

that's very funny, thanks for clarifying the process on how they fill the balloons full of "hot air"! lol

This is an EPIC view of the Parade! Thanks!
I enjoyed watching this year on YouTube with Verizon’s 360 View - which boggled my mind actually - fascinating
But your photos topped it off for me this year!
I’ve never seen the TOPS of these balloons - so kewl
And I’ve never ever seen one POP! Ha ha ha Pretty neat

I'm glad you enjoyed it, and to think this even got your attention past a professionally produced 360 degree view gives me an even greater sense of satisfaction for having posted it! :)

Amazing how you’re so close to the balloons and yet in the comfort of your place. I only see this on TV being on the other coast (west) and I haven’t followed it in a few years. Seriously the roads are covered with tarp(?)! Wow, that’s a lot of tarp! Thanks for sharing 👍🏼!

glad you enjoyed it @offoodandart! yeah, they cover all the roads, I believe so that the balloons don't scratch and rip on the pavement while they're tied down the day before. Perhaps more amazing is how come noon or so, almost everything's cleaned up and gone within an hour or so, almost as if it never even happened!

Wow, simply amazing that they're so efficient with the clean up and all. Well, for something that goes on every year for several years, I guess it shouldn't be a surprise that they have it down. Makes me interested in watching and being more observant for next Thanksgiving. Anyway, hope you had a fun Thanksgiving and that you ate more than you should.

Thanks for sharing your memorable experience have a great day alexpmorris hope I also try in future and share my experience.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alexpmorris from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63