Death by Public Speaking

in #life6 years ago

Public speaking 1.jpg
“I would rather die than speak in front of people.” We have all heard this statement made by someone? You had better believe it. The fear of public speaking does in fact feature in the top three of the worlds list of fears, even higher than the fear of death itself.

Nervous public speaker.jpg

Whilst effective public speaking comes with practise it is not easy to get started. Here are ten basic communication skills even for the experienced speaker or presenter.

i. Start and finish on time – it shows respect and reduces stress.
ii. Eye communication – not more than 3 seconds per person
iii. Body Language – it constitutes 55% of your message
iv. Variety in Tone of Voice – it constitutes 38% of your message
v. Listener involvement – ask rhetorical questions
vi. Appropriate use of humour – jokes not at someone else’s expense. The risks are too high.
vii. Dress and appearance- rather overdress than under dress; you can always dress down.
viii. Posture and movement – avoid hands in pockets and standing dead still. Avoid prowling like a lion in a cage.
ix. Language – do not use vulgarity.
x. Be yourself – be natural - do not try to copy someone else.

Golden rule.jpg

NEVER admit or state to your audience, that you are not any good at public speaking/talking to crowds or that this is your first time you are doing this.

Use these tips in your next address to a group of people and you will feel that your butterflies (a normal and acceptable symptom for the most practised public speakers) are all flying in formation rather than haphazardly.

The antidote to death by public speaking is self-confidence.

Sort:  

I wonder if your first line was appreciated by Politicians , who were shot at while making a speech?
Having done quite a bit of this , you are spot-on.

LOL the way some speak one wonders....:)

I suppose a few butterflies in the speaker are good for the audience. Being too comfortable when speaking could lead to a speaker being boring

and complacent .......i never take my audience or my skill as a public speaker for granted...

your speak is very awesome. thanks for @allandharvey

Thank you - i hope it helps

I got the amazing skills to give my presentation on front of audience more elegant way. Thank you share the steps of good speaking in public @allandharvey. May be i can do it...

You can do it - picture yourself being successful - visualisation always works. Another thing I do is try and visit the venue before the event so that I can more easily picture myself presenting and have a picture in my mind of the audience. Good luck and let me know how it goes when you do it.

i have a problem when i presented my topic, my temperament is not well. when i see the big public. How i can my confidence perfect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82