Doing it for the first time

in #life5 years ago

Do you recall your first time? For some it's a nerve-wracking experience, others blissful. Some don't just do it once but, over and over again, finding each time satisfying, but each also less satisfactory than the last. They go back for more, and more, in an insatiable drive for the sense of satisfaction they felt the first time...But often it eludes them and each time they do it they are left un-sated and seeking more so back they go again...

I refer to online shopping of course and for me it happened for the first time last week. You can see the product of my efforts in the image above: A new cable for my phone. To be completely honest it's not actually my first online shopping experience ever however it was my first Amazon purchase. So, I guess I qualify as a non-Amazon-virgin now!

I was surprised at how easy the process was, to be honest, and within two days of placing my order the package arrived, as promised. The price was significantly better than what I had researched in the local shops and the fact I didn't have to leave the house to get it rounded out what was a pleasing experience.

I'm not much of a shopper generally only buying what I need, when I need it, and I have to say I'm more of a hands-on shopper preferring to get touchy-feely with the products I'm going to spend my money on. This is especially the case when it's a clothing item considering the fit-issues buying online may bring. A phone cable seemed like a safe purchase though and so I went ahead and it worked out ok

I wonder what sort of impact the rise of online shopping is having, and will have, in the future as far as retail shops go. I mean a drive down many of the streets in my city show many for lease signs, empty shops and closing down sales. Is that the way of the future? No shops locally but the worlds' warehouses at our fingertips?

I don't know what the impact will be from a job, or ground-level economic perspective. I suppose some of those warehouses may have staff, however from what I can tell many are automated and human labour is not very prevalent. It's the way of the world these days, but I'm not sure it's a good way. Still, I guess I helped the decline of human jobs by purchasing my phone cable online right?

Sort:  

Of course you were referring to online shopping in your first paragraph😊 And I'd say online shopping is the new "let's go to the mall"!!

Thanks to @bengy for featuring your post in our @pifc contest entry😊

Hi @lynncoyle1, I'm glad you came across my post and that you came over to say hi.

I'm not a huge shopper although I think if I had the choice I'd prefer to "go to the mall" for most things.

You trying to tell me you were an Amazon virgin at this age? Wow, didn't think there were still people like that out there...:P

Some don't just do it once but, over and over again

The thought that some people do it just once seriously disturbs me for some reason.

Posted using Partiko Android

The thought that some people do it just once seriously disturbs me for some reason.

I don't mean me of course...

Yes, as embarrassing as it may be I was a virgin...But no longer, now I'm a slut for it! (Not really, don't why I said that actually...But I'll leave it there.) :)

Very interesting article. Congrats to your purchase. It makes me thinking as well. I see lots of shops closing down too. Not only individuals, but big brands as well. Are online retailers will survive? I think so there are more and more opening starting small and grow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. I think the online stores will eventually push many store-front retailers out of business. Eventually
people won't be able to walk into a shop and buy things probably.

This is how I feel too. I wouldn't open a store. Restaurants and pubs are still running ok. People still like going out fortunately.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, for now, until Uber Eats and Deliveroo put the wet blanket on going out for food as well...

You got a 1.53% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @allover! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Oh.... my wife thought that she would never buy clothes online... but now she does it so often! It helps that there is a free return policy where they come and pick it up (probably not a great thing with all the extra transportation.... )

I have featured you and this post for a curation contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforward-week58entry-bz4bxmfej0

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-58-pay-it-forward-curation-contest


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 58. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

I found you through @bengy in the @pifc and I am follow you now and I am a great fan of online shopping

Hi @brittandjosie, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it.

Thats the only right thing to do “ when you do it for the first time” to speak in your own words

I like how you drew us into your topic somewhat cryptically. Yes, anything you do for the first time can be scary and nerve-wracking. But it gets easier!

I found you thanks to @bengy featuring you in the curation contest - keep up the great work!

Hi @viking-ventures, my apology for my late reply...My time is limited to only few short hours in the computer so I can't always respond as quickly as I would like. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95