My first attempt at making GimBap

in #life6 years ago (edited)

An epic but totally delicious fail!

finishedgimbap800.png

Hey Steemians,

So lately, I've been trying to meal prep because I've been so busy that I keep forgetting to eat lunch. Usually, I'd be in the flow and don't want to break it to eat so I would just wait until I finished whatever I was working on. But by that time I would have gotten sucked into working on something else. So my solution has been to make a whole bunch of easy to eat meals on the weekends for the weekdays ahead.

Today I wanted to share with you the recipe and some pictures from my first time trying to make gimbap. Gimbap for all of you who don't know, are similar to sushi however instead of fish, it usually contains some kind of meat and veggies. It is a traditional korean dish, and is super easy to pack for lunches.

Ingredients:

3 eggs
1/2 can of spam
1 large carrot julienned
1 cucumber cut into matchsticks
1 danmuji cut into matchsticks (yellow pickled radish)
a handful of cherry peppers sliced thinly
5 sheets of dried seaweed (be careful not to get the roasted salted kind that's for snacking)
2 cups of uncooked rice

ingredients800.png

Steps to making bombass gimbap:

  1. Cook your 2 cups of rice. I cook mine in a nonstick pot with a 1:1 ratio of rice to water for around 15-20 minutes. Once finished toss the rice and put it in a bowl on the side to cool.
  2. Add some salt to the carrots and cucumbers and let them sweat for a few minutes. Squeeze out the extra water and saute the carrots with a little extra salt.
  3. Cut the spam into slices and heat it up in a pan. Once browned set them aside to cool. Once they've cooled down you can cut them into matchsticks.
  4. Assemble your gimbap. Put a sheet of dried seaweed (shiny side down) spread a large spoonful of rice, leaving about an inch and a half of empty seaweed. Then line up your ingredients on the rice and roll!

gimbap800.png

This recipe should make about 5 rolls of gimbap.

gimbapflat800.png

As you can see I bought the wrong kind of seaweed and they fell apart easily. But since the seaweed was salted it tasted even better! Guess you'll have to decide for yourself if that's a worthy tradeoff.

failedgimbap800.png

After I took this picture, I knocked my cutting board off the counter and my broken gimbap became inedible too. Good thing it was just a few pieces! My cat sure enjoyed the floor spam though.

I hope you enjoyed my epic fail. The gimbap ended up tasting delicious especially with a side of kimchi and spicy mayo!

Until the next food adventure,
allsthefoods 100px.png AllsTheFoods

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere. - Albert Einstein

Sort:  

Congratulations @allsthefoods! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73