Travelling into the future for Chinese food!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys.

I know after my first post I went completely MIA. Sorry about that, I'm actually in China for Chinese New Year! Normally I spend CNY with my mom's side of the family in New York, but this year my sister and I packed our bags and flew 13+ hours with our dad to visit his side of the family. With Guangzhou, a province in southern China as our destination, we were not ready for the humidity and heat!

My parents told us it would be cold, so we packed sweaters and long pants. I was doubtful since when I checked the weather app it said it would be in the 70s - 80s F for our whole trip. Well, I was right or rather technology was right. Good thing I brought some lighter clothes! The minute we stepped out of the airport it was like stepping into a sticky cloud. Or if you've ever been to Florida imagine that. Just, WET.

It is now our sixth day here. I know I'm updating you guys rather late, I didn't realize I could access Steemit from here with the Great Firewall. I'll talk more about that later in a different post, it's rather an interesting topic.

So far all we've been doing these past six days is a WHOLE CRAP TON of eating. This is apparently how the Chinese celebrate CNY, which lasts 15 days (this year it's from Feb 16th - March 2nd). People would go and eat every day with different family members. Chinese families are rather large since even very distant extended family members keep in touch, so it takes about two weeks to go through everybody. As much fun as it is meeting so many family members, I've got to admit I'm pretty exhausted from all the eating and traveling.

I'll be posting a vlog up soon with what we did every day so I won't go into too much detail. I'll be honest though, it may take awhile for me to go through all the footage, I've never vlogged before and I feel like it's going to turn out horribly.

Even though, I'm waiting to share all my food adventures with you guys through the vlog, here are some street food pics to hold you over for now!

streetvendor.png

We were at Di Shi Fu Road in Guang Zhou. The street is lined with food vendors, restaurants, and shops. I can't wait to share with you my post on the double skinned milk dessert we tried there!


fruitstand.png

The fruit here is beautiful! We noticed that there were a lot of people who bought fresh fruit to eat while shopping. It makes me feel like a total fat ass because all I wanted to eat were curry fishballs and octopus tentacles!


curryfishballs.png

These curryfish balls were actually from a little shop in HongKong called Hot & In. We tried them the day before we visited Di Shi Fu Road. They were so freakin good we regretted not getting more!


Hope you enjoyed the little teaser. Follow @allsthefoods to hear more about my adventures in China!



Sort:  

Congratulations @allsthefoods! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This looks delicious! My suggested beer pairing is a Maibock. Try it out and let us know what you think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73